- The Acronym, Expanded
- Why Interventional and Diagnostic Radiology Share One Credential
- Who Certifies IR/DR and What the Path Looks Like
- Core, Computer-Based, and Oral: Three Stages
- The Content Map Behind the Name
- Why Acronym Confusion Matters
- IR/DR Versus DR Certification
- Fees and Registration Mechanics
- Where the Credential Leads
- Matching Preparation to the Name
- Frequently Asked Questions
- IR/DR stands for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology, a certification issued by the American Board of Radiology (ABR).
- The credential requires the Qualifying (Core) Exam, then a Certifying Exam with computer-based and oral components.
- Candidates already DR-certified are exempt from the computer-based certifying component.
- The oral component is four examiner-led 30-minute case periods; the computer-based component has 178 questions.
The Acronym, Expanded
IR/DR stands for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. It names a single American Board of Radiology (ABR) certification that joins two halves of the specialty: the minimally invasive, image-guided procedures that interventional radiologists perform, and the diagnostic imaging interpretation that underpins them. The slash is deliberate. It signals that the credential is not an interventional-only subspecialty add-on. It certifies a physician who can interpret imaging and treat patients through image-guided procedures.
If you are searching for a definition because you saw the term in a residency listing, a job posting, or a board-preparation forum, this article gives you the short answer first and then the structure behind it. For a broader introduction, see our explainers on what IR/DR is and the meaning of IR/DR, which cover the same ground from different angles.
Why Interventional and Diagnostic Radiology Share One Credential
Interventional radiology grew out of diagnostic radiology. Procedures such as angiography, embolization, biopsy, drainage, and vascular access all depend on reading images in real time and interpreting what they show before, during, and after the intervention. The combined certification reflects that reality. Training pathways, exam content, and even the oral exam's case structure assess both skill sets together.
You can see this in the exam design itself. The Certifying Exam's computer-based study guide includes a required Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology module alongside interventional topics. The oral component, meanwhile, evaluates three things in each case: image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. A candidate who is strong at procedures but weak at imaging interpretation will find the credential structure unforgiving, and vice versa.
What "diagnostic" contributes
The diagnostic side covers cross-sectional and projection imaging across organ systems. ABR's Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists preparation topics including abdomen, cardiovascular, central nervous system, clinical presentation, gynecological/genitourinary, head and neck, multi-system diseases, musculoskeletal, pediatric radiology, spine, thorax, nuclear, and breast. These are preparation topics, not percentage-weighted exam domains, and ABR does not present them as an exhaustive list.
What "interventional" contributes
The interventional side covers arterial, venous, lymphatic, and nonvascular diagnosis and intervention, plus patient care. These map directly to the headings in the computer-based certifying study guide, and they reappear in reshaped form across the oral exam's four categories.
Who Certifies IR/DR and What the Path Looks Like
The certifying body is the American Board of Radiology. No other organization issues this credential, and exam delivery runs through ABR's own remote delivery and monitoring with myABR registration. The current ABR guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement, so be skeptical of third-party pages that claim otherwise.
Training pathways
ABR describes two main routes to eligibility:
- Integrated pathway: a clinical year followed by a five-year accredited interventional radiology residency.
- Independent pathway: diagnostic radiology residency followed by two years of IR training, potentially reduced to one year with approved ESIR (Early Specialization in Interventional Radiology).
Candidates also need to pass Core, have verified training, hold medical licensure, and maintain professional standing. Alternative and international medical graduate pathways have their own published rules. ABR also notes that certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training, which is an eligibility window and not a statement about how long certification remains valid. Our IR/DR requirements guide walks through the eligibility details.
Core, Computer-Based, and Oral: Three Stages
One reason the name causes confusion is that "the IR/DR exam" is not a single sitting. The full credential involves three assessments across two exam tiers.
| Stage | Format | Key facts |
|---|---|---|
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | Remote, computer-based, three days | 615 questions; 15 hours 44 minutes total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions; six answering periods summing to 11 hours 9 minutes |
| Certifying Exam: computer-based component | Remote, closed book, one monitor, side-view webcam | 178 questions; 3 hours 13 minutes answering time; 20-minute tutorial/practice; 20-minute break; maximum session 3 hours 53 minutes |
| Certifying Exam: oral component | Remote, examiner-led, closed book | Four 30-minute case periods; 2 hours active assessment; up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks |
These figures are separate and should not be added together. The Core numbers belong to the prerequisite Qualifying Exam and are not part of the Certifying Exam line. ABR does not specify the scored versus unscored question split for the Core or computer-based exams, and it does not disclose a fixed number of oral cases or questions.
For a candid look at how demanding these stages feel, see how hard the IR/DR exam is.
The Content Map Behind the Name
This site organizes preparation into ten content areas. Be clear about what that number means: it counts the required Essentials module, the five preparation headings of the computer-based study guide, and the four oral-exam categories. It is not an ABR claim of ten unified, percentage-weighted exam domains, and no category can be identified as the highest weighted.
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
The required module that anchors the "DR" half of the name. It draws on the organ-system topics listed in ABR's Essentials study guide.
- Abdomen, thorax, and cardiovascular imaging
- Neuroradiology, spine, and head and neck
- Musculoskeletal, pediatric, breast, and nuclear radiology
Domains 2-6: The Computer-Based Study Guide Headings
These reproduce the five top-level preparation headings in ABR's computer-based certifying study guide.
- Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
- Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
- Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
- Nonvascular Intervention
- Patient Care
The guide describes possible topics, not exhaustive coverage, and ABR does not publish weights for these headings.
Domains 7-10: The Four Oral-Exam Categories
The oral component uses four categories, each examined in its own 30-minute period.
- Arterial diagnosis and intervention
- Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
- Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
- Core interventional radiology
Equal-length periods do not establish equal percentage weights, and the case examples in ABR's oral guide are explicitly nonexhaustive.
For a deeper walk through each area, read our complete guide to all 10 IR/DR content areas.
The Core scope sits underneath
The prerequisite Core exam covers its own, broader list of topics: breast imaging; cardiovascular imaging; computed tomography; gastrointestinal imaging; genitourinary imaging; interventional radiology; magnetic resonance imaging; musculoskeletal radiology; neuroradiology; noninterpretive skills; nuclear radiology; pediatric radiology; physics; radiography/fluoroscopy; thoracic radiology; ultrasound; and radioisotope safety content. Treat these as the topics ABR's certification page lists, not a verified weighted blueprint. Noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety content also apply to certifying preparation.
Why Acronym Confusion Matters
"IR/DR" is a short, generic-looking string, and other unrelated credentials and abbreviations can look similar in search results. Every fact in this article belongs to the ABR's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification and nothing else. If a page quotes a different certifying body, a testing-center vendor, a fee, or a question count that does not match ABR's published guides, it is describing something else or repeating unreliable information.
One example: some third-party prep pages cite roughly 500 questions, Pearson VUE delivery, a $1,950 fee, and ten weighted domains. None of that is supported by the ABR sources reviewed for this article, so we do not use those figures. When in doubt, go to the ABR's own certification page and exam guides, and treat any conflicting claim as unverified. Our overview of IR/DR certification lays out the authoritative picture in more detail.
Key Takeaway
Verify every IR/DR number against the ABR's current guides, which are dated 2026. Question counts, timing, and fees differ across stages, and secondary sources frequently blend them.
IR/DR Versus DR Certification
IR/DR and DR are related but distinct. The most concrete link: existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component of the IR/DR exam, because the DR credential already covers that diagnostic content. Those candidates still complete the oral component.
One source conflict is worth flagging. A page of ABR's computer-based exam guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules: Essentials and fundamental IR. The four-module structure belongs to DR certification, not IR/DR, so do not transplant it when planning your preparation.
Fees and Registration Mechanics
ABR publishes fees in US dollars, and there is no member versus nonmember split. Fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply.
| Item | Fee (USD) |
|---|---|
| Application | $640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates) |
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | $1,240 |
| Certifying computer-based component | $640 |
| Certifying oral component | $1,280 |
| One-time re-exam fee | $640 |
| Late oral cancellation/nonattendance | $400, under stated deadline rules |
Registration runs through myABR. For a full cost walkthrough, see IR/DR certification cost, and for scheduling, see IR/DR exam dates.
Scoring and results
ABR uses criterion-referenced standards. Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately, and both must be passed when both are required. The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass. A specific numerical IR/DR cutoff is not established by the retrieved sources; the 350 figure on ABR's general scoring page is an illustrative example rather than a verified IR/DR passing score. Our passing score guide and pass rate analysis explain how to read these figures responsibly. ABR reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees, and a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598. These are different components and cohorts, not an overall credential pass rate.
Where the Credential Leads
IR/DR certification supports practice as an interventional radiologist, a role hired by academic medical centers, hospital systems, and private radiology and IR groups. Beyond job titles, ABR certification is maintained through continuing certification rather than a fixed expiration. Diplomates need unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, the five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.
On compensation, one concrete data point: a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists a range of $525,000 to $575,000. That is a single employer's position range, not a national average or a measured certification premium. For broader context, see the IR/DR salary guide, the ROI analysis, and our overview of IR/DR jobs.
Matching Preparation to the Name
Because the name joins two halves, a sensible plan treats them as two tracks that converge. This is the only study-planning section in the article, and it is tied to the content areas above rather than generic advice.
Rebuild the diagnostic base
- Review the Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology topics, starting with the organ systems you read least often.
- Cover noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety, which apply to certifying preparation.
Work the interventional headings
- Study arterial, venous, lymphatic, and nonvascular intervention, then patient care, using question-bank practice for the computer-based format.
- Practice image-location and drag-and-drop items, not only multiple choice.
Rehearse the oral categories aloud
- Run timed 30-minute case periods across the four oral categories, narrating interpretation, procedure choice, and complication management.
- Practice periprocedural management explicitly, since the oral exam assesses it alongside interpretation and procedures.
Our IR/DR study guide expands this into a fuller plan, and the one-page cheat sheet helps with last-stage review. When you are ready to test yourself, try the IR/DR practice tests, and revisit the main practice site as your preparation progresses.
Frequently Asked Questions
IR/DR stands for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. It is the American Board of Radiology's combined certification covering image-guided interventional procedures and diagnostic imaging interpretation. See also what IR/DR stands for and what IR/DR means.
The American Board of Radiology (ABR) is the certifying body. Exams are delivered remotely through ABR's own delivery and monitoring, with registration through myABR. The current guides do not establish Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center delivery.
Several stages. Candidates pass the Qualifying (Core) Exam first, then the Certifying Exam, which currently has a computer-based component and an oral component. Each certifying component is scored separately, and both must be passed when both are required.
Yes. Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component. The oral component still applies. Do not assume DR's four-module structure applies to IR/DR, which specifies two required modules: Essentials and fundamental IR.
ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. This article reflects the 2026 structure, so confirm your own timeline with ABR's process update and your training program.