IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IR/DR Certification

TL;DR
  • IR/DR certification means Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology, issued by the American Board of Radiology (ABR), not any other credential sharing the...
  • The path requires the Qualifying (Core) Exam, then the Certifying Exam with computer-based and oral components.
  • The oral component is four separate 30-minute examiner-led case periods, and IR oral offers no conditional pass.
  • DR-certified candidates are exempt from the computer-based certifying component but still take the oral.

What the IR/DR Certification Actually Is

IR/DR is the American Board of Radiology's certification in Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. It is the credential for physicians who train in image-guided, minimally invasive procedures and who also carry diagnostic radiology competence. If you are still sorting out terminology, our explainers on what IR/DR is and what IR/DR stands for cover the basics. This article focuses on the credential's structure: what you sit, in what order, what each part tests, and how to plan around it.

One clarification matters before anything else. The ABR certification described here is the only meaning of IR/DR on this site. Other credentials share the abbreviation, and their fees, dates, and exam formats do not apply to you. Every fact below traces to ABR's published guidance for the 2026 cycle.

The Three Gates: Core, Computer-Based, and Oral

Think of the credential as three sequential gates. Each is scored on its own, so passing one does not carry weight into another.

GateFormatKey logistics (2026 guidance)
Qualifying (Core) ExamRemote, three days615 questions; 15 hours 44 minutes total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions; six answering periods totaling 11 hours 9 minutes of active time
Certifying Exam: computer-based componentRemote, single session178 questions; 3 hours 13 minutes answering time; 20-minute tutorial/practice; 20 minutes of break time; maximum session 3 hours 53 minutes
Certifying Exam: oral componentRemote, examiner-ledFour 30-minute case periods; 2 hours of active assessment; up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks

The Core figures belong to the prerequisite exam and should not be added to the Certifying Exam lines. The scored versus unscored question split is not specified in the guides for either multiple-choice exam. For a deeper look at the difficulty of the whole sequence, see how hard the IR/DR exam is.

DR-certified candidates: An existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based certifying component. You still prepare for the oral component, so your study plan shifts almost entirely toward case-based verbal reasoning.

The Ten Content Areas, Mapped to Their Sources

The ten areas used on this site come from three separate ABR documents. They are not ten unified, percentage-weighted blueprint domains, and ABR does not publish weights for them. The count of ten simply tallies the supplied module, the computer-based preparation headings, and the oral categories. Our complete guide to the IR/DR content areas goes deeper on each one.

Domain 1: the required Essentials module

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

This is the required module identified on ABR's current IR/DR certification page. ABR's Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists these preparation topics, which are explicitly not exhaustive:

  • Abdomen; Cardiovascular; Central Nervous System
  • Clinical Presentation; Gynecological/Genitourinary
  • Head and Neck; Multi-System Diseases; Musculoskeletal
  • Pediatric Radiology; Spine; Thorax; Nuclear; Breast

Domains 2-6: the computer-based preparation headings

These five headings reproduce the top-level structure of ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam computer-based component study guide. The guide describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage.

Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention

Image-guided diagnosis and treatment of arterial disease, including the procedural decision-making that surrounds it.

Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention

Venous pathology, access, and intervention topics as listed in ABR's guide.

Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention

The smallest-sounding heading, but one that appears as its own top-level category, so do not skip it.

Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention

Procedures outside the vascular system, such as image-guided biopsy, drainage, and ablation-type work.

Domain 6: Patient Care

Periprocedural assessment, consent, sedation and analgesia considerations, complication recognition, and follow-up. Note that the guide contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet, so confirm the current wording directly on ABR's site.

Domains 7-10: the four oral categories

These are the four actual oral-exam categories in ABR's oral component study guide. Its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.

Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention

Case-based discussion of arterial imaging findings and the procedural plan.

Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention

Venous and lymphatic cases are combined into a single oral category.

Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention

A broad category blending cancer therapy, biliary disease, and genitourinary procedures.

Domain 10: Core interventional radiology

Foundational IR knowledge applied to cases that do not fit neatly into the other categories.

No weights, no "biggest domain": Equal-length oral periods do not establish equal percentage weights, and ABR publishes no weights for the computer-based headings. Be skeptical of any site that claims a highest-weighted category.

The prerequisite Core exam has its own, separate scope. ABR's certification page lists breast imaging, cardiovascular imaging, computed tomography, gastrointestinal imaging, genitourinary imaging, interventional radiology, magnetic resonance imaging, musculoskeletal radiology, neuroradiology, noninterpretive skills, nuclear radiology, pediatric radiology, physics, radiography/fluoroscopy, thoracic radiology, ultrasound, and radioisotope safety content. These are listed practice topics, not a verified weighted blueprint, and within-domain percentages from the Core domain documents must not be treated as percentages of the Certifying Exam. Noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety content also apply to certifying preparation.

Inside the Computer-Based Component

The computer-based certifying component runs as a remote, proctored session. Multiple-choice questions predominate, and ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats, so practice with image-based items rather than text-only recall.

  • Environment: closed book, one monitor, a side-view webcam, and live or recorded monitoring.
  • Calculator: a software calculator is supplied; personal calculators are prohibited.
  • Break rule: previously viewed questions are locked after a break, so resolve flagged items before you step away.
  • Delivery: ABR remote delivery and monitoring with myABR registration. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement.
A source conflict to know about: Page 11 of the computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page specifies two required modules, Essentials and fundamental IR. The four-module structure belongs to the DR credential. Check ABR's certification page directly when you register.

With 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes, you have roughly a minute per item on average. Build your pacing around the actual clock rather than a guess, and use our practice test platform to rehearse image-heavy questions under timed conditions.

Inside the Oral Component

The oral component is the most distinctive part of IR/DR certification. Four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods assess image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment totals 2 hours, and ABR says to plan for up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of cases or questions is not disclosed.

It is closed book, with remote webcam monitoring and no personal calculator. Unlike some exams, IR oral does not offer a conditional pass.

Key Takeaway

Rehearse out loud. Practice a repeatable arc for every case: describe the imaging, state a differential, propose the procedure and access, anticipate complications, and explain how you would manage them. Silent reading builds recognition; speaking builds the delivery the oral rewards.

Who Can Sit: Pathways and Prerequisites

ABR's certification page describes two main routes. The integrated pathway requires a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency. The independent pathway follows DR residency with two years of IR training, potentially reduced to one with approved ESIR. Alternative and international-medical-graduate pathways have their own published rules.

Across routes, you need to pass Core, have verified training, hold medical licensure, and maintain professional standing. Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training; that is an eligibility window, not the validity period of the certificate. Our IR/DR requirements guide walks through qualification step by step.

Fee Mechanics in USD

ABR publishes these initial certification fees, with no member/nonmember split:

ItemFee (USD)
Application$640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates)
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee$400, under stated deadline rules

Fees are nonrefundable, though ABR's published rescheduling credit rules apply. DR-certified candidates exempt from the computer-based component would not incur that line item. See the full IR/DR certification cost breakdown for planning, and our exam dates guide for scheduling and deadlines.

Scoring and What the Pass Rates Mean

ABR uses criterion-referenced standards. Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately, and both must be passed when both are required. A numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by the sources reviewed here. The 350 figure on ABR's general scoring page is an illustrative example, not a verified IR/DR cutoff, so treat any claim of an exact passing score with caution. Our passing score article keeps this distinction explicit.

ABR's certification page reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees, with 2025 at 88% among 190. It separately reports a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598. These are different components and cohorts, not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate computer-based certifying pass rate was not found. Read them as component snapshots rather than a prediction of your own odds. More context is in our pass rate analysis.

The 2029 Transition

Everything above applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance. ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. Do not apply that future structure to a 2026 attempt. The update has sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025, and the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier one, so read them together. If you are planning a multi-year timeline, confirm the current schedule on ABR's announcements page before committing.

Keeping the Certificate: Continuing Certification

IR/DR certification is continuous and subject to ABR Continuing Certification, not a fixed five- or ten-year initial certificate. Requirements include:

  • Unrestricted medical licensure.
  • At least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years.
  • The five-year assessment requirement, met through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam.
  • One PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years.

Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

Career Value and Earnings Context

Interventional radiologists work in academic medical centers, hospitals, and private practices, and certification is generally a gateway to credentialing and privileges. For a concrete earnings reference, a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists $525,000-$575,000. That is one employer's position range, not a national average or a measured premium attributable to certification. Treat it as a single data point and see our salary guide, ROI analysis, and IR/DR jobs overview for a fuller picture.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Use the structure of the exam itself to order your work. Starting from the component you sit first, here is one way to map the ten areas to a schedule:

Weeks 1-2

Essentials and Patient Care (Domains 1, 6)

  • Work through ABR's Essentials topic list, since it is the broadest and least procedure-specific.
  • Review periprocedural care early because it threads through every oral case.
Weeks 3-5

Vascular domains (Domains 2, 3, 4)

  • Cover arterial, venous, and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention together so the anatomy reinforces itself.
  • Do not neglect lymphatic content; it has its own heading.
Weeks 6-7

Nonvascular and oncology/biliary/GU (Domains 5, 9)

  • Group procedures by organ system and practice naming complications for each.
Weeks 8+

Oral rehearsal (Domains 7-10)

  • Run timed 30-minute mock cases aloud, rotating through all four oral categories.
  • Finish with mixed practice on our practice test site.

If you are DR-certified, compress the first weeks and spend most of your time on oral rehearsal. For broader planning, our IR/DR study guide and one-page cheat sheet complement this schedule.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who certifies IR/DR?

The American Board of Radiology (ABR). Registration runs through myABR, and ABR handles remote exam delivery and monitoring.

Do I have to take both certifying components?

Not always. A candidate with an existing DR certification is exempt from the computer-based certifying component. When both components are required, each is scored separately and both must be passed.

How long is the oral exam?

It consists of four separate 30-minute case periods, for 2 hours of active assessment. ABR states the full session can run up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks.

Is there a published passing score?

A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by the sources reviewed. ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, and the 350 figure on its general scoring page is an illustrative example only.

Will the exam format change?

ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. The 2026 structure described here applies to current candidates.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.