IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is A IR/DR?

TL;DR
  • IR/DR is the American Board of Radiology's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification, earned through a Qualifying (Core) Exam and a...
  • The Certifying Exam has a computer-based component and an oral component; existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based part.
  • The remote computer-based component has 178 questions and a 3 hour 53 minute maximum session; the oral is four 30-minute case periods.
  • ABR reports an 88% first-time IR/DR oral pass rate for 2026 among 219 examinees, which is not an overall credential pass rate.

What an IR/DR Actually Is

"IR/DR" refers to the Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification issued by the American Board of Radiology (ABR). It is the board credential for physicians who have trained as interventional radiologists, the specialists who perform image-guided, minimally invasive procedures and who also hold broad diagnostic imaging competence. The "/DR" in the name is deliberate: the certification reflects a physician who reads images across the diagnostic radiology spectrum and performs and manages image-guided procedures.

If you have seen the same letters attached to other credentials, set those aside. Everything here concerns the ABR pathway only. For related background on the name itself, see our explainers What Is IR/DR?, What Does IR/DR Stand For?, and IR/DR Meaning.

Why the combined name matters: A physician certified through the IR/DR route is assessed on image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. That is a different emphasis from a pure diagnostic radiology certificate, and it shapes how the oral examination is built.

The Two Exam Stages Behind the Credential

The credential is not a single sitting. It is built from two stages, and candidates routinely confuse them because the logistics, fees, and content differ sharply.

Stage one: the Qualifying (Core) Exam

The Core Exam is the prerequisite. ABR's certification page lists its practice topics as breast imaging; cardiovascular imaging; computed tomography; gastrointestinal imaging; genitourinary imaging; interventional radiology; magnetic resonance imaging; musculoskeletal radiology; neuroradiology; noninterpretive skills; nuclear radiology; pediatric radiology; physics; radiography/fluoroscopy; thoracic radiology; ultrasound; and radioisotope safety content. These are the page's listed topics, not a verified weighted blueprint, so avoid any resource that claims precise percentages for the whole list.

The remote Core Exam guide (revised July 23, 2026) describes 615 questions over three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time. Those Core figures belong to the Core Exam only and should never be added to the Certifying Exam.

Stage two: the Certifying Exam

The Certifying Exam currently has two components: a computer-based component and an oral component. Each is scored as a whole and separately. When both are required, you must pass both. Candidates who already hold DR certification are exempt from the computer-based certifying component, which is a major reason the oral component is where many certified radiologists focus their energy.

Who Qualifies: Training Pathways

ABR describes distinct routes into IR/DR certification. In broad terms:

  • Integrated pathway: a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency.
  • Independent pathway: follows a diagnostic radiology residency with two years of IR training, potentially one year with approved ESIR.
  • Other routes: alternative and international medical graduate pathways have separate published rules.

Across routes, ABR requires passing the Core Exam, verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing. Eligibility to certify lasts six full calendar years after training; note that this is an eligibility window, not the validity period of the certificate. For the full checklist, read IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and for the training side see IR/DR Training.

What the Exam Content Covers

ABR does not publish percentage-weighted domains for the IR/DR Certifying Exam, so any claim of a "highest-weighted category" is unsupported. What ABR does publish are study guides with topic headings. We organize them into ten preparation areas drawn from the module and the two component guides. The count of ten comes from combining the required module, the computer-based preparation headings, and the oral categories; it is not an ABR statement of ten unified official domains. Our full walkthrough is in IR/DR Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

The required module identified on ABR's certification page. Its study guide lists preparation topics rather than weighted domains.

  • Abdomen, cardiovascular, and central nervous system
  • Clinical presentation and gynecological/genitourinary
  • Head and neck, multi-system diseases, and musculoskeletal
  • Pediatric radiology, spine, thorax, nuclear, and breast

Domains 2-6: Computer-Based Component Headings

These reproduce the five top-level preparation headings in ABR's computer-based certifying study guide. The guide describes possible topics, not exhaustive coverage.

  • Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
  • Domain 6: Patient Care

Domains 7-10: The Four Oral Categories

These are the four actual oral-exam categories in ABR's oral component study guide. Its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.

  • Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 10: Core interventional radiology
Noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety: ABR specifies that Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation, not only to the Core Exam. Candidates who treat these as "Core-only" topics risk leaving gaps, particularly in the Patient Care area.

The Computer-Based Certifying Component

The remote computer-based certifying guide (revised July 23, 2026) gives a verified schedule. The exam has 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, plus a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. The scored-versus-unscored split is not publicly specified in the retrieved guide.

ElementComputer-Based Certifying Component
Questions178
Answering time3 hours 13 minutes
Tutorial/practice20 minutes
Break time20 minutes
Maximum session3 hours 53 minutes
FormatMultiple-choice predominates; image-location and drag-and-drop formats also described
RulesClosed book; one monitor; side-view webcam; live/recorded monitoring; software calculator supplied, personal calculators prohibited

Two practical details deserve attention. First, previously viewed questions are locked after a break, so use flagging and review before you step away rather than counting on a second look. Second, the guide contains a source conflict: one page mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page specifies two required modules, Essentials and fundamental IR. Do not import the DR-only four-module structure into your plan, and confirm your module requirements directly with ABR.

The Oral Component

The remote oral guide (revised July 9, 2026) describes four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods. Active assessment totals 2 hours, and the guide states up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. The assessment targets image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. ABR does not disclose a fixed number of cases or questions. The exam is closed book with remote webcam monitoring and no personal calculator. Equal-length periods do not establish equal percentage weights.

Key Takeaway

The oral exam rewards structured case management, not just correct recognition. Rehearse each case aloud: indications, contraindications, pre-procedure workup, technique, complications, and follow-up. A mock oral session using your own written case outlines will expose gaps faster than rereading.

The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass, so each category should be treated as consequential. Our IR/DR Study Guide 2026 covers how to build case-based rehearsal into a plan, and How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam? discusses where candidates report the most difficulty.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

Registration runs through ABR and myABR. Delivery and monitoring are handled through ABR's remote exam system; the current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement. Fees below are in USD from ABR's initial certification fee page. No member/nonmember split is published, and fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply.

ItemFee (USD)
Application$640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates)
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance$400 under stated deadline rules

A DR-certified candidate exempt from the computer-based component would not incur that line item, which changes the total materially. For the complete breakdown, see IR/DR Certification Cost 2026, and for scheduling see IR/DR Exam Dates 2026.

Pass Rates and Scoring: Reading Them Correctly

ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, and each certifying component is scored as a whole. A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by retrieved sources. The 350 score on ABR's general scoring page is an illustrative example, not a verified IR/DR cutoff, so be wary of any resource that presents it as your target.

ABR's certification page reports these first-time figures, which describe different cohorts and components:

  • 2026 oral: 88% among 219 examinees
  • 2025 oral: 88% among 190 examinees
  • 2026 Core, first-time resident: 93% among 1,598 examinees

These numbers cannot be combined into an overall credential pass rate, and a separate IR/DR computer-based certifying pass rate was not found. For deeper interpretation, read IR/DR Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and IR/DR Passing Score 2026.

The 2029 Transition

This article describes the retrieved 2026 guidance. ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. Do not apply the future structure to 2026 candidates. ABR's update sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025 should be read together, because the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier one. If your certification window straddles 2028-2029, check ABR's announcements directly before committing to a plan.

Careers, Pay Evidence, and Staying Certified

Who hires

Interventional radiologists work in academic medical centers, hospital-based and private radiology groups, and outpatient or office-based vascular practices. Role types range from procedure-heavy IR positions to blended diagnostic-plus-interventional roles. See IR/DR Jobs for more on the market.

What the pay evidence does and does not show

No national average or certification premium is established in our sources. One concrete data point: a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists a range of $525,000-$575,000. That is a single employer's position range, not a national figure and not a measured IR/DR certification premium. For fuller analysis, see the IR/DR Salary Guide 2026 and Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It?

Staying certified

IR/DR certification is continuous, subject to ABR Continuing Certification, rather than a fixed five- or ten-year certificate. Requirements include:

  • Unrestricted medical licensure
  • At least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years
  • A five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam
  • One PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years

Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

Sequencing Your Preparation

Without published weights, sequence by dependency rather than by guessed emphasis. One workable ordering ties each block to a specific domain and reason:

Block 1

Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology (Domain 1)

  • Cover the Essentials study guide topics first, since they underpin interpretation in every later domain
  • Revisit noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety alongside Patient Care
Block 2

Vascular domains (Domains 2-4)

  • Work arterial, then venous, then lymphatic, so anatomy and device knowledge build in order
  • Use image-location practice, since drag-and-drop formats are described
Block 3

Nonvascular intervention and Patient Care (Domains 5-6)

  • Pair procedures with complication management and periprocedural decisions
Block 4

Oral case rehearsal (Domains 7-10)

  • Rehearse each oral category aloud in 30-minute periods
  • Simulate the remote setup, including webcam and closed-book conditions

Use a question bank for the computer-based component and case review or mock orals for the oral. SIR's June 2026 report on a Fall 2025 survey (118 responses) highlights exactly those two resource types; neither SIR nor ABR endorses the commercial products surveyed. Practice questions are available on the main practice test site, and the one-page IR/DR Cheat Sheet 2026 is useful for last-week review.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an IR/DR in plain terms?

It is the American Board of Radiology's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification. It requires passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam and the Certifying Exam, and it signals competence in both diagnostic imaging and image-guided procedures. See also What Is IR/DR Certification?

Do I need to take every component if I am already DR-certified?

Existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based certifying component. The oral component still applies, and you must meet the training, licensure, and professional-standing requirements.

How many questions are on the IR/DR computer-based exam?

The current remote computer-based certifying component has 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, within a maximum 3 hour 53 minute session. The scored/unscored split is not publicly specified.

Is the 88% figure the IR/DR pass rate?

No. It is ABR's reported 2026 first-time pass rate for the oral component among 219 examinees. It is not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate computer-based certifying pass rate was not found.

Will the exam format change?

Yes. ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. The structure described here applies to 2026 candidates.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.