IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Is IR/DR Certification?

TL;DR
  • IR/DR is the American Board of Radiology (ABR) certification combining Interventional Radiology and Diagnostic Radiology, earned through a Core Exam plus a...
  • The Certifying Exam has two parts: a 178-question computer-based component and four 30-minute oral case periods.
  • Candidates already DR-certified are exempt from the computer-based certifying component but still sit the oral.
  • The oral component is currently scheduled to be replaced by a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029.

What IR/DR Certification Actually Is

IR/DR certification is the credential issued by the American Board of Radiology (ABR) to physicians who complete the combined Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology pathway. It certifies that the holder can both interpret diagnostic imaging across organ systems and perform and manage image-guided procedures. The word "combined" matters: this is not a stand-alone interventional credential layered on top of nothing, and it is not the same as a DR-only certificate.

The complete credential requires two sequential hurdles: the Qualifying (Core) Exam and the Certifying Exam. The Certifying Exam is itself divided into a computer-based component and an oral component. Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately, so passing one does not carry the other.

If you are new to the terminology, our explainers on what IR/DR stands for and the meaning of IR/DR cover the basics, and the broader IR/DR certification overview sits alongside this article.

Keep the credential identity straight: Throughout this article, IR/DR means ABR's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification. Every exam detail below comes from ABR's published 2026 guidance for that credential, and nothing is borrowed from other certifications that happen to share the acronym.

The Two-Stage Path: Core Exam, Then Certifying Exam

Stage 1: The Qualifying (Core) Exam

The Core Exam is the prerequisite gate. Under ABR's 2026 remote exam guide, it is a 615-question exam delivered over three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active answering time (a figure calculated from the official schedule table). ABR does not specify the scored versus unscored question split.

These Core figures belong to the prerequisite exam only. They should never be added to the Certifying Exam numbers to produce some imagined combined duration.

Stage 2: The Certifying Exam

After passing Core and completing verified training, candidates move to the Certifying Exam. It currently has two parts:

  • Computer-based component: 178 questions in a remotely monitored session.
  • Oral component: four examiner-led 30-minute case periods.

A DR-certified candidate is exempt from the computer-based certifying component. Everyone, regardless of exemption, still faces the oral. For a deeper look at difficulty across these stages, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam?

StageFormatKey Logistics (2026 ABR Guides)
Qualifying (Core) ExamComputer-based, remote, three days615 questions; 15 h 44 min total allotted time; 11 h 9 min active answering time
Certifying: Computer-Based ComponentComputer-based, remote, single session178 questions; 3 h 13 min answering time; 20 min tutorial/practice; 20 min break; 3 h 53 min maximum session
Certifying: Oral ComponentExaminer-led, remote webcamFour 30-minute case periods; 2 hours active assessment; up to 3 h 10 min including check-in and breaks

What the Exams Cover: A Source-Mapped Content Outline

One thing worth stating plainly: ABR does not publish percentage weights for the IR/DR Certifying Exam components, and the ten-item outline below is a source map, not an official ten-domain weighted blueprint. It counts the required Essentials module, the five computer-based preparation headings, and the four oral categories. It is a study organizer built from ABR's study guides, and no single category can be identified as the highest-weighted. Our complete guide to all 10 content areas walks through the same map in more depth.

Required Module: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

ABR's certification page identifies Essentials as a required module for IR/DR, and its Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists the preparation topics. These are not exhaustive and not percentage-weighted.

  • Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System, Clinical Presentation
  • Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck, Multi-System Diseases
  • Musculoskeletal, Pediatric Radiology, Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, Breast

Computer-Based Component Preparation Headings

ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Computer-based Component Study Guide organizes preparation under five top-level headings. The guide describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage.

Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention

Vascular imaging and arterial procedural knowledge, including indications, technique, and complications.

Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention

Venous disease, access, and intervention, with attention to when and how procedures are performed.

Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention

A distinct heading in ABR's guide; candidates should not assume it is subsumed under venous content.

Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention

Image-guided procedures outside the vascular system.

Domain 6: Patient Care

Clinical management, periprocedural considerations, and safety. Note that the ABR guide contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet, so treat that corner of the outline as unfinished rather than guessing at its contents.

The Four Oral Categories

ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Oral Component Study Guide defines four actual oral categories. Its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive, and no percentage weights are supplied.

Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention

Oral cases built around arterial disease, imaging findings, and procedural decision-making.

Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention

Venous and lymphatic scenarios combined into a single oral category, unlike the separate computer-based headings.

Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention

Cases spanning oncologic, biliary, and genitourinary intervention.

Domain 10: Core interventional radiology

Foundational interventional radiology scenarios.

Why equal oral periods do not mean equal weights: The four oral periods are each 30 minutes, but ABR does not state that this implies equal percentage weighting, and it does not disclose a fixed number of cases or questions per period. Prepare broadly across all four categories rather than trying to reverse-engineer a weighting.

The Prerequisite Core Scope

The Core Exam has its own, much broader scope. ABR's certification page lists practice topics including breast imaging, cardiovascular imaging, computed tomography, gastrointestinal imaging, genitourinary imaging, interventional radiology, magnetic resonance imaging, musculoskeletal radiology, neuroradiology, noninterpretive skills, nuclear radiology, pediatric radiology, physics, radiography/fluoroscopy, thoracic radiology, ultrasound, and Radioisotope Safety Content. These are listed practice topics, not a verified exhaustive weighted blueprint, and ABR's separate Qualifying (Core) Exam Domains document gives within-domain blueprints that should never be reinterpreted as percentages of the Certifying Exam. Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation, as ABR specifies.

The Computer-Based Certifying Component

Under ABR's 2026 Remote Computer-based Certifying Exam Guide, this component has 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, a 20-minute tutorial/practice period, and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. ABR's retrieved guide does not publicly specify the scored/unscored split.

Question Style

Multiple-choice questions predominate. ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats, which suit a field where image interpretation is the core skill.

Testing Conditions

  • Closed book, one monitor, and a side-view webcam.
  • Live and recorded monitoring through ABR's remote exam delivery. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement; registration runs through myABR.
  • A software calculator is supplied, and personal calculators are prohibited.
  • Once you take a break, previously viewed questions are locked, so you cannot return to revise them.
A source conflict worth knowing about: Page 11 of the computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules, but ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules: Essentials and fundamental IR. That one-plus-three structure appears to belong to the DR-only pathway and should not be applied to IR/DR candidates. When in doubt, follow the certification page and confirm with ABR directly.

The Oral Component

The oral component is examiner-led and consists of four separate 30-minute case periods, giving 2 hours of active assessment. ABR states the full experience can run up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. The exam is closed book, monitored by remote webcam, and does not permit personal calculators.

The oral assesses three linked skills: image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. That third element is where many candidates underprepare. An examiner is as likely to ask what you would do about a complication, a coagulopathy, or a deteriorating patient as to ask you to read a film.

Key Takeaway

Practice the oral out loud, with a partner playing examiner. Rehearse a structured sequence for each case: describe the findings, state a differential, justify the procedure, name risks and complications, and explain how you would manage the patient before and after. Silent reading does not build that skill.

The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass. That makes each of the four periods consequential, since the component is scored as a whole.

Who Is Eligible and How Training Pathways Work

Eligibility is built around training, the Core Exam, and standing. Per ABR's IR/DR certification page:

  • Integrated pathway: a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency.
  • Independent pathway: DR residency followed by two years of IR training, potentially reduced to one year with approved ESIR (Early Specialization in Interventional Radiology).
  • Passing the Core Exam, verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing are all required.
  • Alternative and international medical graduate pathways have separate published rules.

Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training. That is an eligibility window, not the validity period of the certificate. For a fuller walkthrough, see IR/DR Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify and our overview of IR/DR training.

Fees and Registration Mechanics

Registration runs through your myABR account. Fees below are in USD from ABR's Initial Certification Fees and Payments page. ABR publishes no member/nonmember split, fees are nonrefundable, and published rescheduling-credit rules apply.

ItemFee (USD)
Application$640 (or $2,000 for international medical graduates)
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance$400 (under stated deadline rules)

A DR-certified candidate exempt from the computer-based component avoids that $640 line item but still pays for the oral. For the full cost picture, including how fees stack across attempts, read IR/DR Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown, and check timing in IR/DR Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.

Scoring, Passing, and What Pass Rates Mean

ABR uses criterion-referenced standards: your result reflects whether you met a defined standard, not how you ranked against peers. Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately, and when both components are required, both must be passed.

A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established in the sources reviewed. ABR's general scoring page uses 350 as an illustrative example, but that figure should not be treated as a verified IR/DR cutoff. For more on scoring, see IR/DR Passing Score: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

Reading the Published Pass Rates Carefully

ABR's certification page reports these figures, which describe different cohorts and components:

  • 2026 first-time oral pass rate: 88% among 219 examinees.
  • 2025 oral pass rate: 88% among 190 examinees.
  • 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate: 93% among 1,598 examinees.
Do not average these into one number: The oral and Core rates measure different exams and different candidate populations. They are not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate current pass rate for the IR/DR computer-based certifying component was not found. Our IR/DR pass rate analysis goes deeper on interpretation.

The 2029 Transition You Should Know About

This article describes the structure that applies to candidates under ABR's 2026 guidance. ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a future change: a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029, with the current IR/DR computer-based component ending after 2028. That future structure should not be applied to 2026 candidates.

If you are planning around a specific year, read the announcement itself. Its update sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025 should be read together, because the later update changes timing discussed in the earlier one.

Staying Certified After You Pass

IR/DR certification is maintained through ABR Continuing Certification rather than expiring on a fixed five- or ten-year schedule. Per ABR's Stay Certified page, requirements include:

  • Unrestricted medical licensure.
  • At least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years.
  • The five-year assessment requirement, satisfied through OLA (Online Longitudinal Assessment) or a Continuing Certification exam.
  • One PQI (Practice Quality Improvement) project or qualifying activity per rolling three years.

Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

Who Hires IR/DR-Certified Physicians

Interventional radiologists are typically recruited by academic medical centers and health systems, among other employers. Pay depends heavily on the employer, region, and practice model. As one concrete data point, a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists a range of $525,000 to $575,000. That is a single employer's position range, not a national average and not a measured premium attributable to certification. We keep earnings analysis separate in the IR/DR salary guide and weigh the credential's return in Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It?. Job-market context is covered in IR/DR jobs.

Sequencing Your Preparation by Component

The most useful way to organize preparation is by component, since the computer-based exam and the oral reward different skills. The timeline below is one reasonable ordering tied to the source-mapped outline, not an ABR-prescribed schedule, and you should compress or stretch it to your own situation. If you are DR-certified and exempt from the computer-based component, skip straight to the oral weeks.

Weeks 1-2

Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology refresh

  • Work through ABR's Essentials topic list so diagnostic breadth is not a weak point.
  • Prioritize areas you have seen least in your own training.
Weeks 3-5

Arterial, venous, and lymphatic content

  • Study the computer-based headings in order: arterial, venous, then lymphatic.
  • Treat lymphatic as its own topic rather than folding it into venous review.
Weeks 6-7

Nonvascular intervention and patient care

  • Cover image-guided nonvascular procedures and the patient care heading.
  • Practice the image-location and drag-and-drop style alongside standard multiple choice.
Weeks 8-10

Oral case rehearsal across all four categories

  • Run timed 30-minute mock periods for arterial, venous/lymphatic, oncology/biliary/genitourinary, and core IR.
  • Rehearse complications and periprocedural management aloud, not just image reading.

For a broader plan, see the IR/DR Study Guide, and keep the IR/DR cheat sheet handy for last-pass review. When you are ready to test yourself with exam-style questions, our IR/DR practice tests are built around these same content areas, and you can start with the main practice test site to find your weakest topics early.

Key Takeaway

Match your resources to your component. Question banks suit the computer-based exam, while case review and mock oral practice suit the oral. SIR's June 15, 2026 report on a Fall 2025 survey (118 responses) highlighted exactly these resource types, though neither SIR nor ABR endorses any specific commercial product.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does IR/DR certification mean?

It is the American Board of Radiology's combined Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification. Earning it requires passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam and the Certifying Exam, which has a computer-based component and an oral component. See also What Is IR/DR Certification? for related background.

How long is the IR/DR computer-based certifying exam?

It has 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time. Adding a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time gives a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. Questions viewed before a break are locked afterward.

Do DR-certified physicians have to take the whole Certifying Exam?

No. Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component, but the oral component still applies. Confirm your specific status with ABR before registering.

What is the IR/DR oral exam like?

It consists of four examiner-led 30-minute case periods, delivered remotely with webcam monitoring. The cases assess image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass, and ABR does not disclose a fixed number of cases.

Does IR/DR certification expire?

It is maintained through ABR Continuing Certification rather than a fixed initial term. Requirements include unrestricted licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, a five-year assessment through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI activity per rolling three years, with a $340 annual fee.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.