- What the Ten "Domains" Actually Are
- Mapping the Ten Areas to the Exam Components
- Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
- Domains 2-6: The Computer-Based Component Headings
- Domains 7-10: The Four Oral Categories
- The Prerequisite Core Scope, Kept Separate
- Format, Timing, and Fees by Component
- Scheduling Your Preparation Domain by Domain
- The 2029 Transition and Who It Affects
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The "10 domains" combine one required module, five computer-based study-guide headings, and four oral categories; ABR does not publish ten unified weighted...
- The 2026 computer-based certifying component has 178 questions, 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, and a 3 hour 53 minute maximum session.
- The oral component is four separate 30-minute examiner-led case periods, with 2 hours of active assessment.
- No domain weights or highest-weighted category can be established, so spread preparation across every heading.
What the Ten "Domains" Actually Are
Search for the IR/DR exam domains and you will find sites presenting a tidy list of ten weighted content areas with neat percentages. That is not how the American Board of Radiology (ABR) publishes this credential. The IR/DR certification, meaning Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology, is earned in stages: the Qualifying (Core) Exam, followed by the Certifying Exam, which currently has a computer-based component and an oral component.
The ten areas in this guide come from three separate ABR documents, each describing a different part of the process:
- One required module: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology (Domain 1), identified on ABR's IR/DR certification page.
- Five preparation headings: the top-level headings of ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam computer-based component study guide (Domains 2-6).
- Four oral categories: the categories listed in ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam oral component study guide (Domains 7-10).
The count of ten is therefore an organizing device, not an ABR claim of ten unified official exam domains. None of the source documents supplies percentage weights, and the study guides themselves say their topic lists are not exhaustive. Treat the structure below as a source-mapped preparation framework. For broader context on the credential itself, see What Is IR/DR Certification? and the overview at IR/DR Certification.
Mapping the Ten Areas to the Exam Components
Before diving into individual domains, it helps to see where each one lives in the exam sequence. The table below separates what belongs to the computer-based component from what belongs to the oral component.
| Domain | Name | Source Document | Component |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology | ABR IR/DR certification page and Essentials study guide | Required module (computer-based certifying) |
| 2 | Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention | Computer-based component study guide | Computer-based |
| 3 | Venous Diagnosis and Intervention | Computer-based component study guide | Computer-based |
| 4 | Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention | Computer-based component study guide | Computer-based |
| 5 | Nonvascular Intervention | Computer-based component study guide | Computer-based |
| 6 | Patient Care | Computer-based component study guide | Computer-based |
| 7 | Arterial diagnosis and intervention | Oral component study guide | Oral |
| 8 | Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention | Oral component study guide | Oral |
| 9 | Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention | Oral component study guide | Oral |
| 10 | Core interventional radiology | Oral component study guide | Oral |
Notice the overlap in subject matter between Domains 2-4 and Domains 7-8. The same anatomy and pathology appear in both, but the testing format is different: one is a computer-delivered question set, the other is a spoken case discussion with an examiner. Preparing the knowledge once and then rehearsing it two different ways is the efficient approach. Our IR/DR study guide walks through that sequencing in more detail.
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
Domain 1 is the required Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology module named on ABR's current IR/DR certification page. ABR also links an Essentials of Radiology Study Guide. That document carries no printed version year, and it lists preparation topics rather than a percentage-weighted blueprint.
Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology: Listed Preparation Topics
The linked Essentials study guide lists these areas. ABR's listing is not exhaustive, so treat it as a minimum scan list rather than a ceiling.
- Abdomen
- Cardiovascular
- Central Nervous System
- Clinical Presentation
- Gynecological/Genitourinary
- Head and Neck
- Multi-System Diseases
- Musculoskeletal
- Pediatric Radiology
- Spine
- Thorax
- Nuclear
- Breast
Interventional radiologists sometimes underestimate this module because their daily work is procedural. The Essentials module is about image interpretation breadth, so a candidate who has spent most of training in angiography suites and clinic may need deliberate time with chest, neuro, MSK, and pediatric imaging.
One important exemption: an existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component, which means those candidates do not sit this module again. Check the details in IR/DR Requirements: Eligibility, Prerequisites and How to Qualify if you are unsure which route applies to you.
Domains 2-6: The Computer-Based Component Headings
Domains 2 through 6 reproduce all five top-level preparation headings in ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam computer-based component study guide. The guide has no printed version date and no weights. It describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage, and it contains an incomplete sub-bullet under the noninvasive vascular laboratory material, so it should not be read as a finished syllabus.
Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
The arterial heading covers diagnostic angiography and arterial therapeutic procedures. Expect questions that pair imaging findings with the appropriate intervention, device, or complication.
- Recognizing arterial pathology on angiographic and cross-sectional imaging
- Matching lesion type to treatment strategy
- Access-site and procedural complications
Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
The venous heading addresses venous imaging and interventions. Candidates should be comfortable with both the diagnostic and the therapeutic sides, including how venous disease presents clinically.
- Venous anatomy and variants relevant to access and intervention
- Indications and technique for common venous procedures
- Complications and their management
Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
Lymphatic work is a smaller part of most practices, which is exactly why candidates neglect it. As a named top-level heading, it deserves intentional review rather than an assumption that it will be minor.
- Lymphatic anatomy and imaging approaches
- Recognizing lymphatic abnormalities
- Principles of lymphatic intervention
Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
This heading spans image-guided procedures outside the vascular tree, such as biopsies, drainages, and tract-based interventions. Questions tend to test procedural judgment: approach selection, contraindications, and troubleshooting.
- Procedure selection and approach
- Peri-procedural risk and correction of issues
- Complication recognition
Domain 6: Patient Care
Patient Care is the heading most likely to feel unlike a "radiology" topic, and it is where careful reading pays off. It addresses the clinical context around procedures rather than the procedures themselves.
- Pre-procedure assessment and consent considerations
- Sedation, monitoring, and post-procedure follow-up
- Management of complications and communication with the care team
Domains 7-10: The Four Oral Categories
Domains 7 through 10 are the four actual oral-exam categories from ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam oral component study guide. That guide has no printed version year and no percentage weights, and its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive. The oral component consists of four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods. The fact that the periods are equal in length does not mean the categories carry equal percentage weights, and the number of cases or questions per period is not disclosed.
The oral exam assesses image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Unlike the computer-based component, you are expected to talk through a case: state findings, propose a plan, anticipate complications, and manage them aloud.
Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
Expect to interpret an arterial study, justify an intervention, and respond when the examiner introduces a complication mid-case.
Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
Venous and lymphatic topics are combined in a single oral category, unlike the computer-based headings where they are separate. Prepare both together for the oral format.
Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
This category groups three areas that often appear in real practice as overlapping referral streams. Cases may blend imaging interpretation with procedural planning and patient management.
Domain 10: Core interventional radiology
The broad-based category. Treat it as the place where fundamental principles, safety, and general technique are tested in conversation.
Key Takeaway
Oral preparation is a speaking skill, not just a knowledge skill. Rehearse cases out loud, practice naming a complication before the examiner prompts you, and be ready to describe your management of it. There is no conditional pass for the IR oral, so each period counts toward a whole-component outcome.
The Prerequisite Core Scope, Kept Separate
The Core Exam is a prerequisite, not part of the ten areas above, and mixing the two causes confusion. ABR's certification page lists these Core practice topics: Breast imaging; Cardiovascular imaging; Computed tomography; Gastrointestinal imaging; Genitourinary imaging; Interventional radiology; Magnetic resonance imaging; Musculoskeletal radiology; Neuroradiology; Noninterpretive skills; Nuclear radiology; Pediatric radiology; Physics; Radiography/fluoroscopy; Thoracic radiology; Ultrasound; and Radioisotope Safety Content.
That list is a set of listed topics, not a verified exhaustive 17-domain weighted blueprint. ABR's separate Qualifying (Core) Exam Domains document offers individual domain blueprints, but its within-domain percentages describe those domains only and must not be treated as percentages of the IR/DR Certifying Exam. Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation, per ABR.
For the 2026 remote Core exam, ABR's guide shows 615 questions over three days and 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time, including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time, a total calculated from ABR's schedule table. The scored versus unscored split is not specified. These figures belong to the Core exam and should not be added to the certifying components. For difficulty context, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam?
Format, Timing, and Fees by Component
Understanding how each component is delivered clarifies how to prepare for the domains it covers. All delivery is remote with ABR monitoring and myABR registration; the current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement.
| Item | Computer-Based Certifying Component | Oral Certifying Component |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 178 questions; multiple choice predominates, plus image-location/drag-and-drop formats | Four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods |
| Timing | 3 hours 13 minutes answering; 20 minutes tutorial/practice; 20 minutes break; 3 hours 53 minutes maximum session | 2 hours active assessment; up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks |
| Rules | Closed book; one monitor; side-view webcam; live/recorded monitoring; software calculator supplied, personal calculators prohibited; viewed questions locked after a break | Closed book; remote webcam monitoring; no personal calculator |
| Fee (USD) | $640 | $1,280 |
| Conditional pass | Not described for this component | Not offered |
Other published fees include the application at $640 (or $2,000 for international medical graduates), the Qualifying Exam at $1,240, a one-time re-exam fee of $640, and a late oral cancellation or nonattendance fee of $400 under the stated deadline rules. Fees are nonrefundable, with published rescheduling credit rules. No member versus nonmember split is published. The full breakdown is in IR/DR Certification Cost: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Scheduling Your Preparation Domain by Domain
This is the one place generic method meets IR/DR specifics: because ABR publishes no weights, your schedule should be driven by your own weaknesses and by which component you must pass. A sensible sequencing logic:
Domain 1: close interpretation gaps
- Start with Essentials, since breadth gaps take longest to fix
- Prioritize the listed areas where your recent training exposure was thinnest
Domains 2-4: vascular headings
- Study arterial, venous, and lymphatic together; the anatomy is shared
- Give lymphatic its own session so it is not squeezed out
Domains 5-6: nonvascular and patient care
- Practice procedural judgment and complication management
- Review pre- and post-procedure care as its own topic
Domains 7-10: oral rehearsal
- Convert the same knowledge into spoken cases
- Run timed 30-minute mock periods and narrate complications aloud
Candidates exempt from the computer-based component through existing DR certification can skip Blocks 1-3 as formal exam preparation and concentrate on oral readiness. Remember that SIR's June 15, 2026 report on ABR IR/DR certifying exam resources, from a Fall 2025 survey with 118 responses, highlighted question banks for the computer-based exam and case review or mock oral practice for the oral exam. Neither SIR nor ABR endorses the surveyed commercial resources, so evaluate any tool on its own merits. Practice questions for the computer-based side are available through our main practice test site, and a compact fact review lives in the IR/DR cheat sheet.
The 2029 Transition and Who It Affects
ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. The update has sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025, and the later section changes timing discussed in the earlier one, so read them together.
Everything in this guide applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance. Do not apply the future structure to 2026 candidates. If your exam timeline approaches the transition, verify the current ABR announcement and your eligibility window. Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training, and that is not the same as certification validity. Details on timing are in IR/DR Exam Dates: Testing Windows, Deadlines and Scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Know which structure you are preparing for. A 2026 candidate faces the computer-based and oral components described here; a candidate sitting after the transition should expect the DR Oral plus IR Oral process instead. Always confirm against ABR's current pages.
Frequently Asked Questions
No. The ten areas in this guide combine one required module, five computer-based study-guide headings, and four oral categories. ABR does not supply percentage weights, and no highest-weighted category can be established from the retrieved sources.
The 2026 guide specifies 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time. Adding a 20-minute tutorial and 20 minutes of break time gives a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified in the retrieved guide.
It consists of four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods covering image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment is 2 hours, with up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of cases or questions is not disclosed.
An existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component. The oral component and other requirements still apply, so confirm your specific pathway on ABR's certification page. See also IR/DR Requirements.
ABR reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees and 88% among 190 in 2025, plus a 93% 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate among 1,598. These are different cohorts and components, not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate computer-based certifying pass rate was not found. For interpretation, see IR/DR Pass Rate: What the Data Shows and IR/DR Passing Score.
Certification is continuous and subject to ABR Continuing Certification rather than a fixed initial term. Requirements include unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, a five-year assessment through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.