IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

What Does IR/DR Mean?

TL;DR
  • IR/DR means Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology, a single American Board of Radiology (ABR) certification, not an acronym borrowed from another field.
  • The credential requires passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam, then the Certifying Exam's computer-based and oral components.
  • The oral component is four examiner-led 30-minute case periods; the computer-based component is 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time.
  • Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component, but not from the oral.

The Short Answer: What IR/DR Stands For

IR/DR stands for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. It is the American Board of Radiology's combined certification pathway for physicians who train in image-guided, minimally invasive procedures and also in the diagnostic imaging that supports them. When a program director, a recruiter, or a licensing document says "IR/DR," that is the phrase being abbreviated.

The slash matters. It signals one credential that spans two disciplines, not two separate certificates stapled together. Interventional radiologists perform procedures such as embolization, ablation, vascular access, and drainage. Diagnostic radiologists interpret CT, MRI, ultrasound, radiography, and nuclear studies. The IR/DR pathway trains and certifies a physician to do both, with a strong procedural emphasis.

If you have found this page while searching related phrasing, the same meaning is covered from slightly different angles in What Is IR/DR?, What Does IR/DR Stand For?, and IR/DR Meaning. They all describe this same ABR credential.

What the Credential Actually Is

The certifying body is the American Board of Radiology. The complete IR/DR credential is earned in stages: a Qualifying (Core) Exam first, then a Certifying Exam that currently has two parts, a computer-based component and an oral component. Both certifying parts are scored separately, and when both are required, both must be passed.

Why the identity matters: Other professional credentials in unrelated fields use the same letters. Everything on this site, including fees, exam structure, and the topics below, refers only to the ABR's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification. If a source mentions a different certifying body, a different fee schedule, or a testing-center vendor, it is describing something else.

For the full definition-level treatment, see What Is IR/DR Certification? and the shorter IR/DR Certification overview.

IR/DR Versus Plain DR Certification

Many candidates already hold Diagnostic Radiology certification before they pursue the interventional credential. The ABR recognizes that. Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component, which is the single most practical difference between the two paths for a DR-certified physician.

QuestionIR/DR Candidate Without Prior DR CertificationIR/DR Candidate With Existing DR Certification
Qualifying (Core) ExamRequiredAlready behind the candidate through the DR pathway
Computer-based certifying componentRequiredExempt
Oral certifying componentRequiredRequired
Oral conditional passNot offered for IR oralNot offered for IR oral

The practical consequence: a DR-certified physician preparing for IR/DR concentrates almost entirely on oral-style case reasoning, while a candidate coming through the integrated route must prepare for both the written-format and the oral certifying parts. If you are weighing the two routes, IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify walks through who needs what.

The Three Exam Stages Under the Label

"IR/DR exam" is shorthand that covers more than one sitting. Each stage has its own logistics, and the published numbers belong to individual stages, not to the credential as a whole.

Stage 1: Qualifying (Core) Exam

The prerequisite. According to ABR's 2026 remote exam guide, it runs 615 questions across three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods add up to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time. The scored versus unscored split is not specified. Delivery is remote, handled by ABR's own exam delivery and monitoring, with registration through myABR.

Stage 2: Computer-Based Certifying Component

A closed-book, remotely monitored exam of 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, plus a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. Multiple-choice questions predominate, and ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats. You use one monitor and a side-view webcam, a software calculator is supplied, and personal calculators are prohibited. Once you take a break, previously viewed questions are locked.

Source conflict to be aware of: One page of the computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules: Essentials and fundamental IR. Do not assume the four-module structure used by the DR-only certifying exam applies to you; confirm against ABR's current certification page before you register.

Stage 3: Oral Certifying Component

Four separate examiner-led case periods of 30 minutes each, assessing image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment is 2 hours; the guide states up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. The number of cases or questions inside each period is not disclosed. It is closed book, remotely monitored by webcam, and personal calculators are not allowed.

For a candid look at how these stages feel in practice, read How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

What Gets Tested: The Ten Preparation Areas

This site organizes preparation into ten areas. It is important to be precise about what that "ten" means: it counts the required Essentials module, the five top-level headings of the computer-based study guide, and the four oral-exam categories. It is not an ABR claim of ten unified, percentage-weighted exam domains, and no category can be identified as the highest-weighted. Equal-length oral periods do not imply equal or any particular percentage weights.

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

The required diagnostic module identified on ABR's certification page. Its study guide lists preparation topics, which are not exhaustive and not percentage-weighted.

  • Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System
  • Clinical Presentation, Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck
  • Multi-System Diseases, Musculoskeletal, Pediatric Radiology
  • Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, and Breast

Domains 2-6: Computer-Based Study Guide Headings

The five top-level preparation headings in ABR's computer-based certifying study guide. The guide describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage.

  • Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
  • Domain 6: Patient Care

Domains 7-10: The Four Oral Categories

The four actual oral-exam categories in ABR's oral component study guide. Its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.

  • Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 10: Core interventional radiology

Note the overlap: arterial and venous/lymphatic content appears in both the computer-based headings and the oral categories, but the oral exam rewards a different skill. On the computer-based component you recognize and select. On the oral you interpret an image aloud, commit to a procedural plan, and manage complications while an examiner pushes back. A full breakdown lives in IR/DR Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.

One more scope point: the prerequisite Core exam covers a much wider set of practice topics, including physics, ultrasound, radiography/fluoroscopy, noninterpretive skills, and Radioisotope Safety Content. Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation, per ABR, so do not let them lapse after you clear Core.

Who Qualifies to Sit for It

Eligibility is built around verified training, not just exam performance. ABR describes two main routes:

  • Integrated pathway: a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency.
  • Independent pathway: follows a diagnostic radiology residency with two years of IR training, potentially reduced to one year with approved ESIR.

Across either route, candidates need a passed Core exam, verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing. Alternative and international-medical-graduate pathways have their own published rules. Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training; that window governs how long you have to complete the exams, and it is not the validity period of the certificate itself.

The training itself is its own subject; see IR/DR Training for how residency structure feeds into exam readiness.

Fees, Employers, and Earnings Context

Published ABR Fees (USD)

FeeAmount
Application$640 (or $2,000 for international medical graduates)
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee$400 (under stated deadline rules)

ABR publishes no member versus nonmember split. Fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply. If a DR-certified candidate skips the computer-based component, the corresponding fee does not enter the picture. The complete accounting, including how the stages add up, is in IR/DR Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.

Who Hires IR/DR-Certified Physicians

Interventional radiologists work in academic medical centers, hospital-employed radiology groups, and multispecialty or private practices where image-guided procedures are a service line. Job postings frequently list ABR certification or eligibility as a baseline requirement. A current example: a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists a range of $525,000-$575,000. Treat that as one employer's position range, not a national average and not a measured premium attributable to certification. Further context, with the same caution applied, is in IR/DR Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and the return-on-investment question is taken up in Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026. For openings and role types, see IR/DR Jobs.

What Happens After You Pass

IR/DR certification is not a fixed five- or ten-year certificate. It operates under ABR Continuing Certification, which is continuous rather than a single expiration date. Per ABR's Stay Certified requirements:

  • Unrestricted medical licensure
  • At least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years
  • A five-year assessment requirement, met through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam
  • One PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years

Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

The 2029 Process Change

The structure described on this page applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance. ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029, and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. Source update sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025 should be read together, since the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier one.

Do not apply the future structure to a 2026 plan. If you are testing in the current window, the computer-based and oral components described above are what you will face. If your timeline puts you near the transition, verify dates directly on ABR's announcement page and check IR/DR Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling for scheduling mechanics.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around the Meaning

Because "IR/DR" bundles diagnostic and interventional content, the most useful way to organize time is by which half of the name each stage tests. This is the only methodology section here, and it is tied to the ten areas above.

Block 1

Diagnostic Half (Domain 1)

  • Work through the Essentials topic list: Abdomen, Cardiovascular, CNS, Thorax, Musculoskeletal, and the rest
  • Re-touch Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content
Block 2

Procedural Half (Domains 2-6)

  • Arterial, venous, lymphatic, and nonvascular intervention, then Patient Care
  • Practice image-location and drag-and-drop formats, not just multiple choice
Block 3

Oral Rehearsal (Domains 7-10)

  • Rehearse four 30-minute case periods aloud: interpret, plan, manage complications
  • Drill periprocedural decisions, since the oral does not offer a conditional pass

For a fuller study framework, use IR/DR Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and keep IR/DR Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts nearby for last-week review. To check your readiness against realistic question styles, try the IR/DR practice tests on the main site, and revisit the full practice question set as your oral case reasoning sharpens.

Key Takeaway

Read "IR/DR" as two halves of one credential. The diagnostic half is tested broadly through Essentials, and the interventional half is tested through the computer-based headings and, most demandingly, through four live oral case periods. Prepare each half in the format it will actually be tested.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does IR/DR stand for?

It stands for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. On this site it refers exclusively to the American Board of Radiology's certification pathway combining interventional and diagnostic radiology.

Is IR/DR the same as DR certification?

No. DR is Diagnostic Radiology certification alone. IR/DR adds the interventional pathway. Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the IR/DR computer-based certifying component, but the oral component is still required.

How is the IR/DR oral exam structured?

It consists of four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods covering image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment is 2 hours, with up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. The number of cases is not disclosed.

How many questions are on the IR/DR computer-based certifying exam?

The 2026 remote guide specifies 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, plus a 20-minute tutorial and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum session of 3 hours 53 minutes. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified.

Is there one single IR/DR pass rate?

No. ABR reports component-specific figures for different cohorts, so they cannot be combined into an overall credential pass rate. See IR/DR Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and IR/DR Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for how to read them.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.