IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IR/DR Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown

TL;DR
  • ABR charges $640 to apply, $1,240 for the Qualifying (Core) Exam, $640 for the computer-based component, and $1,280 for the oral.
  • International medical graduates pay a $2,000 application fee instead of $640.
  • DR-certified candidates are exempt from the computer-based certifying component, which removes its $640 fee from their budget.
  • A one-time re-exam fee of $640 applies, and a late oral cancellation or nonattendance fee of $400 can apply.

The Official Fee Schedule at a Glance

Budgeting for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification is mostly a matter of reading the American Board of Radiology (ABR) fee page correctly. The credential is not a single exam with a single price tag. It is a sequence: an application, the Qualifying (Core) Exam, and then the Certifying Exam, which has a computer-based component and an oral component. Each step carries its own fee, and a few of them depend on your training background.

The figures below come from ABR's Initial Certification Fees and Payments page and are in US dollars. ABR does not publish a member versus nonmember split, so there is no discount tier to hunt for.

Fee ItemAmount (USD)Who Pays
Application fee$640Standard applicants
Application fee (international medical graduates)$2,000IMG applicants
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240All candidates
Certifying computer-based component$640Candidates who are not DR-certified
Certifying oral component$1,280All candidates
One-time re-exam fee$640Candidates retaking a component
Late oral cancellation / nonattendance$400Candidates who miss the stated deadline rules

Fees are nonrefundable. ABR publishes rescheduling credit rules, so read them before you book rather than after a conflict arises. If you want the full picture of how the credential is structured before you commit money to it, start with What Is IR/DR Certification? and the eligibility details in IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.

What Each Fee Actually Covers

Understanding what you are paying for helps you plan the sequence and avoid paying twice.

The application fee

The $640 application fee opens your file with ABR: verification of your training pathway, licensure, and professional standing. The integrated pathway pairs a clinical year with a five-year accredited IR residency. The independent pathway follows DR residency with two years of IR training, potentially one with approved ESIR. International medical graduates and other alternative pathways follow separate published rules, and the IMG application fee is $2,000 rather than $640. That $1,360 difference is the single largest pricing split in the schedule.

The Qualifying (Core) Exam

The $1,240 Core fee is the most expensive single exam line. The 2026 Remote Qualifying (Core) Exam is delivered over three days with 615 questions and a total allotted time of 15 hours 44 minutes including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes. That long, high-stakes format is part of why a failed attempt hurts: the re-exam fee is a flat $640, but the schedule disruption and added review time are the real cost. For a candid look at the demands of that stage, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

The Certifying computer-based component

At $640, this component is priced at half the oral. The 2026 remote guide specifies 178 questions, 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, a 20-minute tutorial/practice period, and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum session of 3 hours 53 minutes. Candidates who already hold DR certification are exempt from this component, so for them the $640 simply never appears in the budget.

The Certifying oral component

The $1,280 oral fee covers four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods, giving 2 hours of active assessment and up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. Because there is no conditional pass for the IR oral, the full fee is at stake in each sitting. The $400 late cancellation/nonattendance fee is the one penalty worth memorizing before you register.

Read the deadline rules before you book the oral: The $400 fee applies under ABR's stated deadline rules for late cancellation or nonattendance. It is a pure avoidable cost. Put the cancellation cutoff in your calendar the day you register, and treat it as seriously as the exam date itself.

Three Candidate Scenarios and Their Totals

Because the fee structure depends on your background, the same credential can cost very different amounts. These totals add only the published ABR fees and assume a first-attempt pass on every component. They exclude preparation materials, travel, and any other personal costs.

ScenarioFees IncludedPublished-Fee Total
Standard applicant, not DR-certified$640 application + $1,240 Core + $640 computer-based + $1,280 oral$3,800
DR-certified candidate (exempt from computer-based component)$640 application + $1,240 Core + $1,280 oral$3,160
International medical graduate, not DR-certified$2,000 application + $1,240 Core + $640 computer-based + $1,280 oral$5,160

Notice how much leverage the exemption carries. The DR-certified route saves exactly the $640 computer-based fee, and it also removes an entire exam session from your calendar. If you are weighing whether to finish DR certification first, that is a concrete data point, though you should confirm current applicability with ABR since the process is changing (see below).

Add a retake to any scenario and each failed component costs $640 for the one-time re-exam fee. That makes the realistic worst case for a standard applicant meaningfully higher than $3,800, which is a good reason to invest in preparation early rather than rely on a second attempt.

The 2029 transition matters for planning: ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. This article reflects 2026 guidance only. If your timeline straddles the change, check ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update, and do not assume the 2026 fee table carries forward unchanged.

Costs That Never Appear on the Fee Page

The ABR fee schedule is the floor, not the ceiling. Several real expenses sit outside it.

  • Preparation resources. ABR does not endorse commercial products. SIR's June 15, 2026 report on ABR IR/DR certifying exam resources, based on a Fall 2025 survey with 118 responses, highlights question banks for the computer-based exam and case review or mock oral practice for the oral exam. Prices vary widely and are set by each vendor, so compare before you buy.
  • Time away from clinical work. The Core is three days and the oral can run up to 3 hours 10 minutes. Even with remote delivery, protected time has an opportunity cost, especially if you moonlight or hold a clinical schedule.
  • Home exam setup. Remote delivery shifts equipment from a testing center to your home. More on that below.
  • Licensure and verification. Medical licensure and verified training are prerequisites, and the associated state and institutional fees are separate from ABR's.
  • Retake risk. A $640 re-exam fee is the visible part. The less visible part is a delayed certification date.

Remote Delivery and What It Means for Your Budget

ABR delivers and monitors these exams remotely, with registration through myABR. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement, so you should not budget for a testing-center seat fee or test-center travel. Be wary of any third-party page that claims otherwise; at least one commercial site lists Pearson VUE delivery and a $1,950 fee, and neither is supported by ABR's published sources.

What remote delivery does require is a compliant setup. For the computer-based component, the guide specifies a closed-book exam, one monitor, a side-view webcam, and live or recorded monitoring. A software calculator is supplied, and personal calculators are prohibited. If your current workstation does not meet these requirements, a webcam or a second look at your room setup is a small but real expense. Verify the exact technical requirements in the current ABR guide for your component before buying anything.

Format details that affect how you prepare (and spend)

Logistics differ by component, and so should your practice resources.

  • Core: 615 questions across three days; the scored/unscored split is not specified.
  • Computer-based certifying: 178 questions; multiple-choice predominates, with image-location and drag-and-drop formats also described; previously viewed questions are locked after a break.
  • Oral certifying: four 30-minute examiner-led case periods covering image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management; a fixed number of cases or questions is not disclosed.

Where to Spend Preparation Money

The smartest preparation budget follows the structure of the credential rather than a generic study plan. Each component rewards a different kind of practice, so buying one resource and using it for everything wastes money.

For the computer-based component, the content is organized around ABR's study guide headings: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention, Venous Diagnosis and Intervention, Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention, Nonvascular Intervention, and Patient Care. A question bank that maps to those five headings, plus the Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology module, is the best fit. Note that ABR's guide describes possible topics and is not exhaustive, and it does not publish percentage weights, so no vendor can credibly claim to know which heading is weighted highest.

For the oral, the four categories are Arterial diagnosis and intervention; Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention; Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention; and Core interventional radiology. Equal-length 30-minute periods do not establish equal or unequal weighting, so prepare all four. Here, the best-value spending is on live or structured case rehearsal where you talk through image interpretation, procedure planning, complications, and periprocedural management out loud. Reading alone does not build that skill. For the domain-by-domain breakdown, see IR/DR Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.

To organize your reading before you pay for anything, the free official documents are the right starting point: ABR's certification page, the Essentials of Radiology Study Guide, and the two Certifying Exam study guides. Then layer paid resources on top where you find gaps. Our IR/DR Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt walks through how to sequence them, and you can test yourself against realistic questions on the main practice test site.

Key Takeaway

Match each spending decision to a specific component. Put question-bank money toward the computer-based exam, case-review money toward the oral, and use ABR's free study guides to find out where you are actually weak before buying anything else.

Budgeting by Exam Stage

Because fees come due at different points, it helps to think about cash flow in stages rather than as one lump sum. The following is a planning frame, not an official ABR schedule, so confirm actual due dates in your myABR account and on the IR/DR Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling page.

Stage 1

Application and Core

  • Application fee: $640 ($2,000 for IMGs)
  • Core Exam fee: $1,240
  • Largest single-stage outlay; plan for it during residency
Stage 2

Computer-based certifying component

  • Fee: $640, skipped if you are DR-certified
  • Budget a question bank aligned to the five ABR study-guide headings
Stage 3

Oral certifying component

  • Fee: $1,280
  • Budget for mock oral or case review
  • Keep the $400 late cancellation/nonattendance rule in mind

Eligibility for certification lasts six full calendar years after training. That window is not the same thing as certification validity, but it does mean you have room to space the fees out rather than paying everything at once. Spacing helps cash flow, though a long gap between Core and certifying study can also cost you retention, so weigh both.

After You Pass: Continuing Certification Costs

The cost of IR/DR certification does not end on exam day. ABR certification is continuous and subject to ABR Continuing Certification rather than a fixed five- or ten-year initial certificate. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

To stay certified, ABR requires unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, the five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. Your CME and PQI activities may carry their own costs through conferences or courses, which you should account for in a lifetime budget even though ABR does not set those prices.

Looking at lifetime cost this way, the initial exam fees are a modest share of what you will pay ABR over a career, because the $340 annual fee recurs every year. Anyone modeling total cost of the credential should include it.

Fees Versus Earnings: Keeping the Comparison Honest

It is tempting to compare a roughly $3,000 to $5,000 fee stack against physician compensation and call the credential an obvious bargain. Be careful about how far that logic goes. There is no verified national average for interventional radiologist pay in the sources behind this article, and no measured salary premium specific to IR/DR certification.

The one concrete data point available is a single employer posting: a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist position (JPF07749) opened in September 2026 and lists a range of $525,000 to $575,000. That is one position at one institution, not a market average and not evidence of what certification adds. Use it as context for scale, not as a forecast. For a fuller treatment, see IR/DR Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, and browse employer expectations on the IR/DR Jobs page.

The practical reading is simple. Certification is generally a baseline expectation for practicing as a board-certified interventional radiologist, and the fees are small relative to the cost of the training that precedes them. What the fees really buy is eligibility, and the price you pay is lowest when you pass on the first attempt.

Pass-rate context, without overreach: ABR's certification page reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees (88% among 190 in 2025), and a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598. These are separate cohorts and components, not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate computer-based certifying pass rate was not found. They suggest most candidates pass, but they do not remove the cost of a miss. See IR/DR Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows and IR/DR Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass for the scoring context.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the total published ABR fee for IR/DR certification?

For a standard applicant who is not DR-certified and passes every component on the first attempt, the published fees total $3,800: $640 application, $1,240 Core, $640 computer-based, and $1,280 oral. DR-certified candidates are exempt from the computer-based component, bringing that to $3,160. International medical graduates pay $2,000 for the application, bringing the standard-route total to $5,160.

Are IR/DR exam fees refundable?

No. ABR fees are nonrefundable. Published rescheduling credit rules may apply, so review them before registering. A late oral cancellation or nonattendance can also trigger a $400 fee under the stated deadline rules.

What does it cost to retake a component?

ABR lists a one-time re-exam fee of $640. This is separate from the original fee for that component, so a failed attempt adds to your total rather than replacing it.

Is there a discount for members?

No member versus nonmember split is published on ABR's fee page, so the fees listed are the fees that apply. Any discounts on preparation materials come from individual vendors, not ABR.

What do I pay once I am certified?

The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340. Staying certified also requires unrestricted licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, a five-year assessment through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four.

For a broader orientation to the credential and its costs in context, the IR/DR Certification overview and the IR/DR Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts are good companions, and the IR/DR Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown page is the quick-reference version of the figures above.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.