- The Credential at a Glance
- Three Exams, One Pathway: What Each Stage Tests
- Numbers to Memorize: Format and Timing
- Fees and Registration Mechanics
- The 10-Heading Content Map
- Oral Exam Quick Reference
- Reading the Pass Rate Numbers Correctly
- Eligibility, the 2029 Transition, and Continuing Certification
- A Domain-Ordered Review Sequence
- Who Hires and What the Pay Evidence Shows
- Frequently Asked Questions
- IR/DR certification requires the Core (Qualifying) Exam, then a Certifying Exam with computer-based and oral components.
- The 2026 computer-based component is 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time.
- The oral component is four examiner-led 30-minute case periods, with no conditional pass for IR oral.
- The IR oral first-time pass rate in 2026 was 88% among 219 examinees, per ABR.
The Credential at a Glance
IR/DR here means Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology, the American Board of Radiology (ABR) credential for physicians who complete integrated or independent interventional radiology training. This page is a compression exercise: the facts you should be able to recite without notes before test day. If you want the broader strategy behind them, pair this sheet with our IR/DR study guide, and for a definitional primer start with what IR/DR certification is.
The credential is not a single sitting. It is a sequence:
- Qualifying (Core) Exam, the prerequisite gate taken after training progresses.
- Certifying Exam, computer-based component, which a candidate with an existing DR certification is exempt from.
- Certifying Exam, oral component, examiner-led and remotely monitored.
Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately. When both are required, both must be passed.
Three Exams, One Pathway: What Each Stage Tests
Core: breadth across diagnostic radiology
ABR's certification page lists these Core practice topics: Breast imaging; Cardiovascular imaging; Computed tomography; Gastrointestinal imaging; Genitourinary imaging; Interventional radiology; Magnetic resonance imaging; Musculoskeletal radiology; Neuroradiology; Noninterpretive skills; Nuclear radiology; Pediatric radiology; Physics; Radiography/fluoroscopy; Thoracic radiology; Ultrasound; and Radioisotope Safety Content. These are the page's listed topics, not a verified exhaustive weighted blueprint. Individual domain blueprints live in ABR's Qualifying (Core) Exam Domains document, and its within-domain percentages should never be treated as percentages of the Certifying Exam.
Certifying computer-based: modules and IR depth
Preparation for this component centers on the required Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology module plus ABR's computer-based study guide headings (arterial, venous, lymphatic, nonvascular, and patient care). Multiple-choice questions predominate, and ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats.
Certifying oral: judgment under examiner pressure
The oral component assesses image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. It tests whether you can think like a practicing interventionalist: recognize the finding, choose the procedure, anticipate the complication, and manage the patient.
Numbers to Memorize: Format and Timing
| Element | Core (Qualifying) | Certifying: Computer-Based | Certifying: Oral |
|---|---|---|---|
| Questions | 615 over three days | 178 | Four case periods; fixed case count not disclosed |
| Answering time | 11 h 9 min (sum of six published periods) | 3 h 13 min | 2 h active (4 x 30 min) |
| Maximum allotted session | 15 h 44 min including tutorials, breaks, intermissions | 3 h 53 min (adds 20 min tutorial/practice and 20 min break) | Up to 3 h 10 min including check-in and breaks |
| Delivery | ABR remote, myABR registration | ABR remote, myABR registration | ABR remote, webcam monitored |
| Scored/unscored split | Not specified | Not publicly specified | Not applicable |
Test-day rules worth knowing cold
- Closed book, one monitor, and a side-view webcam for the computer-based exam, with live and recorded monitoring.
- A software calculator is supplied; personal calculators are prohibited on both certifying components.
- Previously viewed questions are locked after a break, so decide before you step away rather than planning to revisit.
- No Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement is established by the current guides; delivery is through ABR remote exam delivery and monitoring.
For how these formats translate into difficulty, see how hard the IR/DR exam is.
Fees and Registration Mechanics
All fees below are in USD and come from ABR's initial certification fee schedule. No member/nonmember split is published, and fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply.
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Application | $640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates) |
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | $1,240 |
| Certifying computer-based component | $640 |
| Certifying oral component | $1,280 |
| One-time re-exam fee | $640 |
| Late oral cancellation/nonattendance | $400 (under stated deadline rules) |
| Annual IR/DR Continuing Certification | $340 |
A DR-certified candidate skips the computer-based component and its $640 fee, but the application, Core, and oral costs still apply. Our IR/DR certification cost breakdown walks through total-path scenarios, and IR/DR exam dates covers scheduling windows and deadlines.
The 10-Heading Content Map
Here is the first thing to understand about "10 domains": ABR does not publish ten unified, percentage-weighted exam domains for IR/DR. The count of ten is an organizing device that combines the required Essentials module, the five preparation headings in the computer-based study guide, and the four oral-exam categories. No highest-weighted category can be established, and equal-length oral periods do not imply equal percentage weights. For the full walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 10 content areas.
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology (required module)
ABR's Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists these preparation topics, which are not exhaustive and not percentage-weighted:
- Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System
- Clinical Presentation, Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck
- Multi-System Diseases, Musculoskeletal, Pediatric Radiology
- Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, Breast
Domains 2-6: Computer-Based Study Guide Headings
These are the five top-level preparation headings in ABR's computer-based component study guide. The guide describes possible topics, not exhaustive coverage.
- Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
- Domain 6: Patient Care
One caution: the guide contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet. Do not assume what it was meant to cover; use the rest of the arterial and venous material and your clinical training instead.
Domains 7-10: The Four Oral-Exam Categories
These mirror ABR's oral component study guide. The case examples and appendix in that guide are explicitly nonexhaustive.
- Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 10: Core interventional radiology
Oral Exam Quick Reference
The oral component is where many candidates feel the most uncertainty, because there is no fixed published count of cases or questions. What is established: four separate examiner-led periods of 30 minutes each, two hours of active assessment, closed book, remote webcam monitoring, and no conditional pass for IR oral.
A repeatable case framework
Because the oral assesses image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management, a consistent verbal structure keeps you from skipping a layer. Rehearse something like this until it is automatic:
- Describe the findings on the images in a systematic order, naming the key abnormality early.
- Give a focused differential and say what clinical information would discriminate between entries.
- State the indication and contraindications for the proposed procedure, including laboratory and anticoagulation considerations.
- Walk through the technique: access, imaging guidance, device or agent choice, and endpoints.
- Anticipate complications and say how you would recognize and manage each one.
- Close with follow-up: periprocedural orders, monitoring, and the plan if the result is inadequate.
Key Takeaway
Complications and patient management are explicitly part of what the oral assesses. A technically perfect procedure description that ignores what happens when something goes wrong leaves the periprocedural management layer empty. Rehearse out loud with a partner or a timer, since 30 minutes passes quickly.
Reading the Pass Rate Numbers Correctly
ABR's current certification page reports the following figures, and it is easy to misread them:
- 2026 IR oral, first-time: 88% among 219 examinees.
- 2025 IR oral, first-time: 88% among 190 examinees.
- 2026 Core, first-time resident: 93% among 1,598.
These are different cohorts and different components. They are not an overall credential pass rate, and you cannot multiply or average them into one. A separate IR/DR computer-based certifying pass rate was not found in the retrieved sources, so any figure you see quoted for that component deserves skepticism. Our IR/DR pass rate analysis covers how to interpret first-time versus repeat cohorts.
Passing standard
ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, meaning your result depends on meeting a defined standard rather than on outperforming other candidates. A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by the retrieved sources. The 350 figure on ABR's general scoring page is an illustrative example, not a verified IR/DR cutoff, so do not treat it as your target. See what the IR/DR passing score means for more detail.
Eligibility, the 2029 Transition, and Continuing Certification
Who can sit
- Integrated pathway: a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency.
- Independent pathway: DR residency followed by two years of IR training, potentially one with approved ESIR.
- Passing Core, verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing are required.
- Alternative and IMG pathways have separate published rules.
Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training. That is an eligibility window, not the validity period of the certificate. The details are in our IR/DR requirements guide.
The 2029 change
ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. This entry applies to 2026 guidance, so the future structure should not be applied to 2026 candidates. The update's sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025 should be read together, because the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier announcement.
After you pass
Certification is continuous and subject to ABR Continuing Certification, not a fixed five- or ten-year initial certificate. Requirements per ABR's Stay Certified page:
- Unrestricted medical licensure.
- At least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years.
- The five-year assessment requirement, met through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam.
- One PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years.
- Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME/PQI requirements in year four.
- Annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee of $340.
A Domain-Ordered Review Sequence
The one planning idea worth keeping is sequencing by dependency: build the shared foundation first, then the procedure-heavy headings, then convert to spoken answers. The timeline below is an illustration to adapt, not an ABR-prescribed schedule.
Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology (Domain 1)
- Work through the Essentials topic list, giving extra time to areas outside your daily practice.
- This module is required for the computer-based component, so gaps here cost you directly.
Arterial and Venous (Domains 2, 3, 7, 8)
- Study arterial and venous disease once, then rehearse it both as facts and as spoken cases.
- Pair lymphatic material with venous review, as the oral category does.
Nonvascular, Oncology, Biliary, GU (Domains 5, 9)
- Build indication, technique, and complication lists for each common procedure.
Patient Care and Core IR (Domains 6, 10)
- Review periprocedural management, consent, sedation, and anticoagulation decisions.
- Finish with timed mock oral practice using the six-step framework above.
If you are asking whether the effort is justified, read whether IR/DR certification is worth it. To test your recall against exam-style items, use our IR/DR practice tests.
Who Hires and What the Pay Evidence Shows
Board certification in interventional radiology matters most to employers that credential and privilege proceduralists: academic medical centers, hospital systems, and radiology groups. One concrete data point: a UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749), opened September 21, 2026, lists a range of $525,000 to $575,000.
Frequently Asked Questions
The 2026 computer-based component has 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time. Adding a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time gives a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. These figures belong to this component only, not to the whole credential.
Yes. An existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component. The oral component and the other pathway requirements still apply, so confirm your specific situation in your myABR account.
ABR does not disclose a fixed number of oral cases or questions. What is published is four separate examiner-led 30-minute periods, two hours of active assessment, and up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks.
ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. For 2026 candidates, the current two-component structure applies. Check ABR's process update page for the latest timing, since later announcements adjusted earlier ones.
ABR reports an 88% first-time pass rate for the 2026 IR oral exam among 219 examinees. It describes one component and one cohort, not the whole credential, and it should not be combined with the Core resident figure of 93% among 1,598 or treated as a prediction of your own result.