IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • The American Board of Radiology (ABR) requires passing the Core exam, verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing before IR/DR...
  • Integrated pathway: a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency. Independent pathway: DR residency plus two years of IR training.
  • Existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based certifying component, leaving the oral component.
  • Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training; that is an eligibility window, not certification validity.

What "Qualifying" Means for IR/DR Certification

IR/DR is the Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification administered by the American Board of Radiology. Qualifying for it is not a single checkbox. It is a sequence: you complete an approved training pathway, pass the Qualifying (Core) Exam, hold an appropriate medical license with good professional standing, and then pass the Certifying Exam within your eligibility window.

That sequence matters because each gate has its own rules, fees, and timing. Candidates who treat "eligibility" as only a training question often discover late that licensure documentation, registration through myABR, or the structure of the certifying components changes their plans. If you are still getting oriented to the credential itself, our explainer on what IR/DR certification is covers the basics before you dive into requirements.

Scope note: Everything below reflects ABR's retrieved 2026 guidance for Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology. Alternative and international medical graduate (IMG) pathways have separate published rules, so verify your exact situation on ABR's certification page before committing to a timeline.

The Two Training Pathways

ABR recognizes two principal routes into IR/DR certification. Which one you take is usually decided at the residency-match stage, not afterward, so it is worth understanding both even if you are well into training.

FeatureIntegrated PathwayIndependent Pathway
StructureClinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residencyDiagnostic radiology residency followed by IR training
IR-specific trainingBuilt into the residency programTwo years of IR training, potentially one year with approved ESIR
Who it suitsApplicants committed to IR from the startResidents who choose IR during or after DR training
Exam implicationCore exam, then both certifying componentsCore exam, then certifying components; DR certification exempts the computer-based one

Integrated: clinical year plus five-year IR residency

The integrated route folds diagnostic and interventional training into one accredited program. Because the IR/DR credential spans both disciplines, this pathway is designed to produce candidates who are exposed to image interpretation and image-guided procedures throughout. If you are weighing this route, our overview of IR/DR training goes deeper on what residency looks like day to day.

Independent: DR residency plus IR training

The independent route follows completion of diagnostic radiology residency with two years of IR training. ABR's page notes this may be reduced to one year with approved ESIR (Early Specialization in Interventional Radiology). If you have not completed or confirmed ESIR approval, treat the one-year option as something to verify with your program director and ABR rather than assume.

Step One: Passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam

Passing the Core exam is a prerequisite for IR/DR certification. It is a separate, earlier exam from the Certifying Exam, and it has its own logistics. For the 2026 remote Core exam, ABR's guide describes 615 questions delivered over three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time, a figure calculated from the official schedule table. The split between scored and unscored questions is not specified.

Delivery is through ABR's remote exam delivery and monitoring, with registration through your myABR account. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement, so be wary of third-party sites that claim otherwise.

Do not blend the numbers: The 615-question, three-day figure belongs to the Core exam. It is not added to, or part of, the Certifying Exam. Mixing these up is one of the most common errors in online IR/DR guidance.

What the Core exam covers

ABR's certification page lists these practice topics for the prerequisite Core scope: breast imaging; cardiovascular imaging; computed tomography; gastrointestinal imaging; genitourinary imaging; interventional radiology; magnetic resonance imaging; musculoskeletal radiology; neuroradiology; noninterpretive skills; nuclear radiology; pediatric radiology; physics; radiography/fluoroscopy; thoracic radiology; ultrasound; and radioisotope safety content. These are the page's listed topics, not a verified exhaustive weighted blueprint. ABR publishes individual domain blueprints in a separate Core Exam Domains document, and its within-domain percentages should not be treated as percentages of the IR/DR Certifying Exam.

For a candidate-facing view of how hard this gate feels in practice, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam?

Step Two: The Certifying Exam and Its Two Components

Once you have passed Core and finished training, you move to the Certifying Exam. Currently it has two components: a computer-based component and an oral component. Each is scored as a whole and separately, and when both are required you must pass both. The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass.

The computer-based component

ABR's 2026 remote guide describes 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, plus a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. Multiple-choice questions predominate, and ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats. The scored/unscored split is not publicly specified in the retrieved guide.

Conditions are strict: the exam is closed book, uses one monitor and a side-view webcam, and is subject to live or recorded monitoring. A software calculator is supplied and personal calculators are prohibited. Questions you have already viewed are locked after a break, which affects how you manage the break timing.

A source conflict worth knowing: One page of the computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page specifies two required modules: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology and fundamental IR. Do not assume the DR-only four-module structure applies to IR/DR. Confirm module requirements directly with ABR when you register.

The oral component

The oral component consists of four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods assessing image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment totals 2 hours, and ABR states the day can run up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of oral cases or questions is not disclosed. It is closed book, with remote webcam monitoring and no personal calculator.

The DR-certified exemption

If you already hold DR certification, you are exempt from the computer-based certifying component. In practical terms, that leaves the oral component as the remaining certifying hurdle. This is a significant difference in workload between candidates, and it is why understanding your own certification status early shapes everything from your study plan to your budget. Our guide to the IR/DR study guide shows how to adjust preparation depending on which components you must sit.

Licensure, Professional Standing, and the Six-Year Window

Beyond training and exams, ABR requires medical licensure and professional standing. Expect to document an appropriate medical license and to maintain good standing through the process. Licensing details vary by state and country, so confirm with ABR how your specific license is verified.

Understanding the six-year eligibility window

Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training. This is frequently misread. It is the period during which you may pursue and complete certification after finishing training. It is not how long your certification remains valid once earned. Validity is handled separately through continuous certification, discussed below.

Key Takeaway

Put your training-completion date and six-calendar-year eligibility deadline on a calendar the day you finish training. Work backward to schedule Core, then the certifying components, with a buffer for any re-exam. Check the IR/DR exam dates guide for scheduling mechanics.

Fees You Will Pay Along the Way

Requirements and cost are tightly linked, because each step carries an ABR fee. The figures below are in US dollars from ABR's initial certification fees page. No member/nonmember split is published, and fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply.

ItemFee (USD)
Application$640
Application (international medical graduates)$2,000
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee$400 (under stated deadline rules)

A DR-certified candidate exempt from the computer-based component would not pay that $640 line, but would still face the application, Core, and oral costs as applicable to their situation. The late oral cancellation fee is a reminder to treat your oral slot as a firm commitment. For a deeper walkthrough, see the IR/DR certification cost breakdown.

What the Certifying Components Expect You to Know

Qualifying also means being ready for the content. ABR's materials organize preparation differently for each component, and it is important not to treat these as ten official weighted domains. The "10" in this site's framework simply counts the required Essentials module, the computer-based preparation headings, and the oral categories. ABR publishes no percentage weights, so no category can be called highest-weighted. Our complete guide to the IR/DR content areas unpacks this structure further.

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

The required Essentials module draws on ABR's Essentials of Radiology Study Guide, which lists preparation topics rather than weighted domains.

  • Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System, Clinical Presentation
  • Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck, Multi-System Diseases, Musculoskeletal
  • Pediatric Radiology, Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, and Breast
  • The list is nonexhaustive; use it as a map, not a boundary

Domains 2-6: Computer-Based Preparation Headings

ABR's computer-based study guide uses five top-level headings describing possible topics, not exhaustive coverage.

  • Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
  • Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
  • Domain 6: Patient Care
  • Note: the guide contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet, so confirm that area against current ABR materials

Domains 7-10: The Four Oral Categories

The oral study guide lists four categories, each corresponding to a separate 30-minute examiner-led period. Equal-length periods do not establish percentage weights.

  • Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
  • Domain 10: Core interventional radiology
  • The guide's case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive

Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation, as specified by ABR, so do not let them drop off your radar after Core. If you want a compact refresher of high-yield facts, the IR/DR cheat sheet is a useful companion.

The 2029 Transition and What It Means for You

ABR has published an IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announcing a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029, along with an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. Its update sections are dated March 10 and December 12, 2025, and the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier announcement, so the two should be read together.

Apply the right structure to the right year: This article describes the structure for 2026 candidates. Do not apply the future DR Oral plus IR Oral format to your current planning unless your own exam window falls under it. Check ABR's announcement for the transition details that affect your cohort.

If your eligibility window straddles the transition, this is the most important timing question in your qualification plan. Candidates near the 2028-2029 boundary should confirm directly with ABR which process they will sit.

Sequencing Your Preparation Around Eligibility

Because qualifying is staged, preparation should be too. Here is one IR/DR-specific way to order the work, assuming you must sit both certifying components. Adjust if you are DR-certified and exempt from the computer-based one.

Phase 1

Secure the prerequisite

  • Finish the Core exam and confirm your result before heavy certifying prep
  • Keep Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content active, since they carry into certifying
Phase 2

Computer-based content

  • Start with Domain 1 (Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology) because it is the required module
  • Move through arterial, venous, lymphatic, nonvascular, and patient care headings (Domains 2-6)
  • Practice drag-and-drop and image-location formats, not just multiple choice
Phase 3

Oral rehearsal

  • Rehearse four 30-minute case periods aligned to Domains 7-10
  • Practice talking through image interpretation, procedure choice, and periprocedural management, including complications
  • Do mock orals with a colleague acting as examiner

The reasoning is simple: Essentials is required and broad, so it anchors the computer-based work, while the oral component rewards verbal case management that only improves with spoken practice. For the full roadmap, see the IR/DR study guide, and when you are ready to test yourself, use the IR/DR practice tests to find weak spots across the arterial, venous, and nonvascular headings.

After You Qualify: Staying Certified

Qualifying gets you certified, but certification is not a fixed-term certificate. ABR uses continuous certification under its Continuing Certification program. Requirements include unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, the five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.

Understanding this upfront helps you judge the long-term commitment. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, our analyses of whether IR/DR certification is worth it and the IR/DR salary guide put the credential in a career context. Note that salary evidence is employer-specific: one academic posting, for example, listed a position range of $525,000-$575,000, but that is a single employer's range, not a national average or a measured certification premium.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I have to pass the Core exam before the IR/DR Certifying Exam?

Yes. Passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam is a prerequisite, along with verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing. The Core exam has its own format and fee, separate from the certifying components.

What happens if I already hold DR certification?

Existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based certifying component, so you would sit the oral component. Confirm how your specific certification status is verified with ABR when you apply.

Does the six-year window mean my certification expires?

No. Eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training and describes how long you have to complete certification. Once certified, you maintain it through ABR's continuous certification program rather than a fixed-term certificate.

Where do I take the IR/DR exams?

The 2026 guides describe remote delivery and monitoring by ABR with myABR registration, using a webcam and single monitor. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement.

Will the 2029 changes affect me?

It depends on your exam window. ABR announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. This article reflects 2026 guidance, so confirm your cohort's structure directly with ABR.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.