- The Honest Answer on a Passing Score
- How ABR Scores Certifying Components
- Two Certifying Components, Two Separate Hurdles
- Don't Confuse the Core Exam With the Certifying Exam
- The Computer-Based Component: What You Are Scored On
- The Oral Component: Four Cases, No Conditional Pass
- What Pass Rates Do and Don't Tell You
- Turning "Pass the Whole Exam" Into a Domain Plan
- Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing the Standard
- The 2029 Process Change and Your Timeline
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No verified numerical IR/DR certifying pass mark is published; the 350 on ABR's scoring page is only an illustrative example.
- ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, so your result reflects mastery of the standard, not rank against other candidates.
- Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately; both must be passed when both are required.
- The IR oral component offers no conditional pass, so all four 30-minute case periods count toward one outcome.
The Honest Answer on a Passing Score
If you searched for a single number to aim for on the Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology (IR/DR) certifying exam, here is the straight answer: a current, IR/DR-specific numerical pass mark is not established by the sources ABR makes available. Anyone quoting you a precise raw score, percent-correct threshold, or scaled cutoff for the IR/DR certifying exam is either guessing or importing a number from a different test.
That matters because the internet is full of confident-sounding cutoffs. ABR's general scoring page uses a score of 350 as an illustrative example when explaining how scaled results work. It is an explanatory example, not a verified IR/DR cutoff, and you should not build a study plan around it.
What you can know with confidence is how the American Board of Radiology (ABR) frames passing: as a criterion-referenced standard applied separately to each certifying component. The rest of this article unpacks what that means for your preparation, where the real hurdles sit, and how to turn an unpublished cutoff into a concrete study plan.
How ABR Scores Certifying Components
ABR describes its approach as criterion-referenced. In practical terms, this means the standard for passing is set against what a minimally qualified, board-certified practitioner should know and be able to do, rather than being a fixed percentage of questions or a quota of candidates who must fail.
What criterion-referenced means for you
- You are not competing against your cohort. A strong group does not raise the bar, and a weak group does not lower it.
- Raw percent-correct is not the whole story. Scaled reporting exists so that results are comparable across different question sets, which is why the "350" example on ABR's scoring page is expressed on a scale rather than as a percentage.
- The standard is about competence, not curve position. Your preparation target is breadth and reliability across the exam's topics, not outperforming a rival.
For a deeper look at how difficulty relates to these standards, see our guide on how hard the IR/DR exam is, and for the broader data picture, read what the IR/DR pass rate data shows.
Two Certifying Components, Two Separate Hurdles
The IR/DR Certifying Exam currently has a computer-based component and an oral component. ABR scores each component as a whole and separately, and when both are required, you must pass both. Passing one does not carry you through the other, and a strong oral performance cannot compensate for a weak computer-based result (or vice versa).
| Feature | Computer-Based Component | Oral Component |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 178 questions, predominantly multiple choice, plus image-location/drag-and-drop formats | Four examiner-led 30-minute case periods |
| Timing | 3 hours 13 minutes answering time; max allotted session 3 hours 53 minutes | 2 hours active assessment; up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks |
| What it assesses | Knowledge across the computer-based study guide headings | Image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management |
| Scored as | A whole, separately | A whole, separately |
| Conditional pass | Not described in the retrieved guide | Not offered for IR oral |
| Exam fee | $640 | $1,280 |
| Exemption | Waived if you already hold DR certification | Required |
Don't Confuse the Core Exam With the Certifying Exam
A frequent source of confusion is mixing up numbers from the prerequisite Qualifying (Core) Exam with the Certifying Exam. They are different assessments with different logistics, and their figures must not be added together or swapped.
The 2026 Remote Qualifying (Core) Exam, per ABR's July 23, 2026 guide, runs 615 questions across three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time. The scored versus unscored split is not specified. These are Core numbers only.
The Core exam has its own domain blueprints, and any within-domain percentages in those blueprints apply to the Core, not to the Certifying Exam. Do not read a Core domain percentage as a share of the IR/DR Certifying Exam. Passing Core is a prerequisite for certification eligibility, but it does not count toward either certifying component.
If you are still working out whether you are eligible to sit for the certifying exams at all, our IR/DR requirements guide covers the integrated and independent training pathways in detail.
The Computer-Based Component: What You Are Scored On
The computer-based certifying exam delivers 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time. A 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time bring the maximum allotted session to 3 hours 53 minutes. The public guide does not specify how many items are scored versus unscored, so treat every item as if it counts.
The exam is closed book, uses one monitor and a side-view webcam, and is monitored live and via recording. A software calculator is supplied; personal calculators are prohibited. One logistics detail with real scoring implications: previously viewed questions are locked after a break. If you plan to flag items for a second look, finish your review before taking your break, because you will not be able to return afterward.
The content map: Domains 1 through 6
Because ABR does not publish percentage weights for these headings, you cannot responsibly claim one is "worth more" than another. What you can do is prepare against the full map. The six headings are:
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
The required Essentials module. ABR's linked study guide lists preparation topics rather than weighted domains.
- Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System, Clinical Presentation
- Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck, Multi-System Diseases
- Musculoskeletal, Pediatric Radiology, Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, Breast
Domains 2 to 6: Computer-Based Study Guide Headings
These reproduce the five top-level headings in ABR's computer-based certifying study guide.
- Domain 2: Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 3: Venous Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 4: Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
- Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention
- Domain 6: Patient Care
One honest caveat: ABR's study guide describes possible topics and is explicitly not exhaustive, and it contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet that has not been completed. There is also a source conflict worth knowing about. One page of the computer-based exam guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page specifies two required modules, Essentials and fundamental IR. Do not transplant the four-module structure used for the DR-only pathway onto your preparation.
For a heading-by-heading walkthrough, see our complete guide to all 10 IR/DR content areas.
The Oral Component: Four Cases, No Conditional Pass
The oral component is where "passing score" thinking tends to break down, because there is no question count to tally. Four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods assess image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment totals 2 hours, and the guide states up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of oral cases or questions is not disclosed. The exam is closed book, with remote webcam monitoring and no personal calculator.
The critical rule: the IR oral does not offer a conditional pass. You are scored on the component as a whole, so a weak period cannot be quarantined and retaken on its own. Equal-length periods also do not mean equal weights, and ABR does not publish percentage weights for the oral categories.
The four oral categories: Domains 7 through 10
The Four Oral Categories
These reproduce the four actual categories in ABR's oral component study guide. Its case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.
- Domain 7: Arterial diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 8: Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 9: Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention
- Domain 10: Core interventional radiology
Practically, this means oral preparation should rehearse the full arc of a case: read the images, commit to a diagnosis, choose and justify a procedure, anticipate complications, and manage the patient before and after. Reading about procedures is not the same as narrating one under time pressure to an examiner.
Key Takeaway
Because there is no conditional pass and no published weighting, treat all four oral periods as equally capable of sinking you. Rehearse out loud, include complications and patient management in every practice case, and avoid betting on a "favorite" category.
What Pass Rates Do and Don't Tell You
ABR's current IR/DR certification page reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees, and 88% among 190 examinees for 2025. It separately reports a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598 examinees.
Read these carefully:
- They describe different components and cohorts. The Core figure is not an oral figure, and neither is an overall credential pass rate.
- A separate pass rate for the IR/DR computer-based certifying component was not found in the sources retrieved for this article.
- First-time rates describe first attempts only; they say nothing about repeat candidates.
- A high first-time pass rate under a criterion-referenced standard suggests that well-prepared candidates generally meet the standard, not that the exam is easy.
For fuller context on interpreting these figures, our IR/DR pass rate analysis goes component by component.
Turning "Pass the Whole Exam" Into a Domain Plan
Since there is no weighted blueprint to optimize against, the smartest use of an unpublished cutoff is to prepare for breadth with a deliberate sequence. One sensible ordering for a candidate who must sit both components, shown here as an illustration rather than a prescription:
Essentials foundation (Domain 1)
- Work through the Essentials topics ABR lists, starting with your weakest body systems
- This is the broadest module, so front-loading it prevents last-minute gaps
Vascular and lymphatic core (Domains 2 to 4)
- Pair arterial and venous diagnosis with intervention technique and complications
- These topics later reappear in oral categories 7 and 8, so study once with both formats in mind
Nonvascular intervention and patient care (Domains 5 and 6)
- Cover drainage, biopsy, and ablation reasoning alongside periprocedural management
- Patient care questions reward judgment, so practice explaining your choices
Oral rehearsal (Domains 7 to 10)
- Run timed 30-minute mock cases aloud, four in a row, to build stamina for the full 2 hours
- Include oncology, biliary, and genitourinary cases, which have their own oral category
If you are already DR-certified and exempt from the computer-based component, collapse Phases 1 to 3 into targeted review and spend most of your time on Phase 4. For a fuller preparation framework, see our IR/DR study guide for first-attempt success, and for a quick last-pass review sheet, use the IR/DR cheat sheet. To check your readiness with exam-style questions, try the IR/DR practice tests.
Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing the Standard
Because the stakes of each component are separate, so are the costs. These fees are in USD from ABR's initial certification fee schedule:
| Item | Fee (USD) |
|---|---|
| Application | $640 (or $2,000 for international medical graduates) |
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | $1,240 |
| Certifying computer-based component | $640 |
| Certifying oral component | $1,280 |
| One-time re-exam fee | $640 |
| Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee | $400 (under the stated deadline rules) |
Fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply, and no member/nonmember split is published. Registration runs through myABR, with remote delivery and monitoring by ABR; the current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement. Eligibility to take the certifying exam lasts six full calendar years after training, which is an eligibility window, not a certification validity period. See the IR/DR certification cost breakdown for the full financial picture and the IR/DR exam dates guide for scheduling.
The 2029 Process Change and Your Timeline
This article applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance. ABR has announced an IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update: a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029, and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. Do not apply that future structure to a 2026 candidacy. The announcement has update sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025; read them together, since the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier one.
If your training timeline puts you near the transition, check ABR's announcement directly before committing to a plan, because the scoring structure you face depends on which process applies to your cohort. Once certified, you enter continuous certification under ABR Continuing Certification rather than holding a fixed-term certificate, with a $340 annual IR/DR fee and requirements including unrestricted licensure, Category 1 CME, an assessment requirement, and quality improvement activity. Whether the credential is worth the investment is covered in our IR/DR ROI analysis.
Frequently Asked Questions
A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by the retrieved ABR sources. ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, and the 350 score on its general scoring page is an illustrative example rather than a verified IR/DR cutoff.
Yes, when both are required. ABR scores each component as a whole and separately, so you must pass the computer-based and oral components individually. If you hold DR certification, you are exempt from the computer-based component and need only the oral.
No. The IR oral component does not offer a conditional pass. It is scored as a whole across the four 30-minute case periods, so there is no way to retake only a weak period.
No. ABR reports an 88% first-time oral pass rate among 219 examinees in 2026, but that covers the oral component only. It is not an overall credential rate, and a separate computer-based pass rate was not found.
The 2026 guide specifies 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, with a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes including tutorial and break time. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified.