- What the Published Numbers Actually Cover
- The Oral Pass Rates: 88% in 2026 and 2025
- The Core Pass Rate: A Different Cohort Entirely
- The Missing Number: Computer-Based Certifying Pass Rate
- How Scoring Works and Why It Shapes the Rates
- Format, Fees, and What a Failed Attempt Costs
- Reading Pass Rates Against the Ten Content Areas
- Scheduling Preparation Around Where Candidates Struggle
- The 2029 Transition and Your Pass-Rate Expectations
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ABR reports an 88% first-time IR oral pass rate for 2026 among 219 examinees, and 88% for 2025 among 190.
- The 93% Core figure covers 1,598 first-time residents and is a different cohort from the Certifying Exam.
- No separate IR/DR computer-based certifying pass rate was found, so no overall credential pass rate exists.
- The IR oral offers no conditional pass, and each certifying component is scored separately as a whole.
What the Published Numbers Actually Cover
Most searches for an IR/DR pass rate want a single headline percentage. Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification through the American Board of Radiology (ABR) does not produce one. The credential is earned in stages: the Qualifying (Core) Exam first, then the Certifying Exam, which currently has a computer-based component and an oral component. Each stage has its own candidate pool, its own format, and its own reported results.
That structure is the single most important thing to understand before quoting any figure. A pass rate is only meaningful when you know who was counted, which component they sat, and whether it was their first attempt. This article walks through what ABR has published for 2026, what it has not published, and how to translate those numbers into a realistic preparation plan. If you are still sorting out the basics of the credential itself, the overview at What Is IR/DR Certification? covers the pathway before you dive into outcomes.
| Component | Published first-time result | Cohort |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 IR oral (Certifying) | 88% | 219 examinees |
| 2025 IR oral (Certifying) | 88% | 190 examinees |
| 2026 Core | 93% | 1,598 first-time residents |
| IR/DR computer-based certifying | Not found in retrieved sources | Not applicable |
The Oral Pass Rates: 88% in 2026 and 2025
ABR's current certification page reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees, and a 2025 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 190. The two years match, which suggests stability in how the exam performs, though two data points cannot establish a trend. The examinee count grew from 190 to 219 between the two years, so the 2026 cohort was somewhat larger.
Three cautions apply when you read these figures.
- "First-time" matters. The reported rate describes candidates attempting the oral for the first time. It says nothing about repeat takers, so it should not be read as the rate at which all candidates eventually pass.
- The population is already filtered. To reach the oral, a candidate has typically completed IR residency or the independent pathway, passed Core, and cleared the computer-based component unless exempted. These are people who have already demonstrated substantial readiness.
- Roughly one in eight did not pass. An 88% rate means 12% of first-time examinees fell short. In a field where the oral tests live case reasoning under time pressure, that is a meaningful minority.
The oral is four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods, giving two hours of active assessment, with up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. ABR does not disclose a fixed number of cases or questions. Because the format is examiner-led and conversational, preparation that stops at reading will under-serve you; the pass rate reflects candidates who could articulate decisions aloud, including complications and patient management.
The Core Pass Rate: A Different Cohort Entirely
ABR separately reports a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598 examinees. This is the prerequisite exam, and it is where most readers' mental image of "the board exam" actually lives. The 2026 remote Core schedule runs 615 questions over three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time. ABR does not specify the scored versus unscored split.
The Core covers a broad base: ABR's certification page lists topics including breast imaging, cardiovascular imaging, CT, gastrointestinal imaging, genitourinary imaging, interventional radiology, MRI, musculoskeletal radiology, neuroradiology, noninterpretive skills, nuclear radiology, pediatric radiology, physics, radiography/fluoroscopy, thoracic radiology, ultrasound, and radioisotope safety content. That is a list of practice topics, not a verified weighted blueprint, so you cannot derive per-topic pass behavior from it.
A high Core rate should not lull you into assuming the later stages are equally forgiving. The Core is a broad, multi-day knowledge exam; the Certifying Exam is narrower and more procedural, built around IR-specific decision making. For a candid look at relative difficulty across stages, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
The Missing Number: Computer-Based Certifying Pass Rate
Here is the gap that most third-party articles paper over: a separate current pass rate for the IR/DR computer-based certifying component was not found in the retrieved ABR sources. If a site quotes you a precise percentage for that component, ask where it came from. Some commercial prep pages publish confident figures for IR/DR exams that conflict with ABR's own materials, including different question counts, different delivery vendors, and different fees.
What is established about the computer-based component is its structure:
- 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time.
- A 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes.
- Predominantly multiple-choice, with image-location and drag-and-drop formats also described by ABR.
- Closed book, one monitor, a side-view webcam, live or recorded monitoring, and a supplied software calculator (personal calculators are prohibited).
- Previously viewed questions are locked after a break.
The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified in the retrieved guide. Delivery is ABR remote exam delivery and monitoring through myABR registration; the current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement.
How Scoring Works and Why It Shapes the Rates
ABR uses criterion-referenced standards. In plain terms, you are measured against a defined standard of competence rather than against other candidates, so there is no fixed quota of people who must fail. A cohort can in principle pass at a high rate if it meets the standard, which is consistent with the high figures reported above.
Several scoring rules are specific to this credential:
- Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately.
- When both components are required, both must be passed.
- The IR oral does not offer a conditional pass.
The "scored as a whole" language is easy to skim past and important. Strength in one area does not formally excuse weakness in another within a component; your overall performance against the standard determines the outcome. A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark was not established by the retrieved sources. ABR's general scoring page uses a 350 score as an illustrative example, but that is not a verified IR/DR cutoff and should not be treated as one. For a fuller treatment of what is and is not known, read IR/DR Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Format, Fees, and What a Failed Attempt Costs
Pass rates are ultimately about risk, and risk has a price tag. ABR publishes these initial certification fees in USD:
| Item | Fee |
|---|---|
| Application | $640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates) |
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | $1,240 |
| Certifying computer-based component | $640 |
| Certifying oral component | $1,280 |
| One-time re-exam fee | $640 |
| Late oral cancellation/nonattendance | $400 (under stated deadline rules) |
No member versus nonmember split is published, and fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply. Viewed through a pass-rate lens, the arithmetic is sobering: an 88% first-time oral rate still leaves a minority facing the re-exam fee on top of the lost time. Even a candidate who passes comfortably has already invested in the application, the Core, and the components. The complete cost picture is in IR/DR Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Fee mechanics also affect behavior. The $400 late oral cancellation or nonattendance fee, tied to stated deadline rules, means that scheduling an oral before you are ready and then withdrawing is not free. Build your readiness assessment before you commit to a date, and confirm windows on the schedule page described in IR/DR Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Reading Pass Rates Against the Ten Content Areas
ABR does not publish pass rates by content area, and it does not supply percentage weights for the Certifying Exam. This site organizes preparation across ten areas drawn from the supplied module, the computer-based study guide headings, and the oral categories. That count of ten is a preparation framework, not an ABR claim of ten unified official exam domains, and no highest-weighted category can be established. Equal-length oral periods do not establish equal or specified weighting either.
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
A required module on ABR's current certification page. Its study guide lists Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System, Clinical Presentation, Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck, Multi-System Diseases, Musculoskeletal, Pediatric Radiology, Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, and Breast as preparation topics. These are not exhaustive and not percentage-weighted.
Domains 2-6: Computer-Based Component Headings
Arterial Diagnosis and Intervention; Venous Diagnosis and Intervention; Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention; Nonvascular Intervention; and Patient Care. ABR's guide describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage, and it contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet, so treat it as a starting point rather than a closed syllabus.
Domains 7-10: Oral Categories
Arterial diagnosis and intervention; venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention; oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention; and core interventional radiology. The guide's case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.
One source conflict is worth flagging because it affects how you interpret module expectations: page 11 of the computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules, Essentials and fundamental IR. Do not import the DR-only four-module structure into your planning. The full domain walkthrough is in IR/DR Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas.
Scheduling Preparation Around Where Candidates Struggle
Because ABR does not publish per-domain failure data, the sensible response is to prepare against the structure of each component rather than against rumor. The two components reward different skills, so sequence them differently.
Computer-based component: breadth and recognition
- Cover Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology first if you are not DR-certified, since it is a required module.
- Rotate through arterial, venous, lymphatic, nonvascular, and patient care content.
- Practice the image-location and drag-and-drop formats, not only multiple choice.
Oral component: spoken reasoning
- Rehearse four 30-minute case blocks aloud against a timer.
- Practice stating image findings, the procedure you would perform, and how you would handle complications.
- Include periprocedural management, since the oral assesses it alongside interpretation and image-guided procedures.
The reason to separate these phases is that the computer-based exam is closed book with locked review after breaks, rewarding clean first-pass decisions, while the oral rewards fluency and structure. SIR's reporting on a Fall 2025 survey with 118 responses highlighted question banks for the computer-based exam and case review or mock oral practice for the oral, though neither SIR nor ABR endorses the commercial resources surveyed. For a full plan, see IR/DR Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Key Takeaway
Treat the 88% oral figure as reassurance about the standard, not permission to under-prepare. Candidates reaching the oral are already filtered for readiness, and the 12% who did not pass were not unprepared outliers so much as examinees who could not convert knowledge into structured spoken decisions. Rehearse out loud.
The 2029 Transition and Your Pass-Rate Expectations
Everything above applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance. ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces that a DR Oral plus IR Oral process begins in 2029 and that the current IR/DR computer-based component ends after 2028. The update has sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025, and the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier announcement, so read them together rather than relying on a single snapshot.
The practical implication is that historical pass rates describe the current structure and may not predict outcomes under the 2029 format. If your timeline puts you near the changeover, verify the current transition rules directly with ABR rather than assuming that today's 88% oral figure carries forward unchanged. Do not apply the future structure to 2026 candidates, and do not assume the old structure survives past 2028.
Eligibility also has a clock: certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training, which is not the same as certification validity. Once certified, you enter continuous certification rather than a fixed-term certificate. Requirements include unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, the five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years, with the annual IR/DR fee at $340. If you are weighing whether the investment pays off, see Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and the eligibility details in IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
When you are ready to test yourself against realistic question styles, the IR/DR practice test platform lets you pressure-test the recognition skills the computer-based component demands before you commit to a date.
Frequently Asked Questions
There is no single overall rate. ABR reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees and a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598. These are different components and cohorts, and a separate computer-based certifying rate was not found.
No. The Core is the prerequisite Qualifying Exam. Certification also requires passing the Certifying Exam, which is scored separately by component, so the 93% describes only the first stage and only first-time residents.
No. ABR states that the IR oral does not offer a conditional pass. Each certifying component is scored as a whole and separately, and when both are required you must pass both.
ABR lists a one-time re-exam fee of $640. Fees are nonrefundable, and a late oral cancellation or nonattendance fee of $400 applies under the stated deadline rules. Always confirm current figures on ABR's fees page before scheduling.
Not necessarily. ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. The 2026 figures describe the current structure, so check ABR's transition announcements if your timeline overlaps the change.