IR/DR logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

IR/DR Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt

TL;DR
  • The Certifying Exam has a 178-question computer-based component and four 30-minute oral case periods; both must be passed when both are required.
  • Existing DR certification exempts you from the computer-based certifying component, leaving the oral component.
  • ABR publishes no domain weights for these guides, so build your plan around topic coverage rather than invented percentages.
  • Component costs: $640 for the computer-based part and $1,280 for the oral part; the one-time re-exam fee is $640.

What You Are Actually Preparing For

"IR/DR" on this site means one thing: the American Board of Radiology's Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology certification. It is not a single sitting. The complete credential requires the Qualifying (Core) Exam followed by the Certifying Exam, and the Certifying Exam currently has a computer-based component and an oral component. The most common first-attempt failure mode is not weak knowledge; it is preparing for the wrong stage with the wrong tools.

If you are still orienting yourself on the credential itself, the explainers What Is IR/DR Certification? and IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify cover the basics. This guide assumes you know the credential and want a plan that maps to ABR's published preparation materials.

A note on sources: Every format detail below comes from ABR's 2026 remote exam guides and its preparation study guides. Third-party sites sometimes quote different question counts, vendors, or fees. Where a commercial page conflicts with ABR, treat ABR as authoritative and plan around the ABR numbers.

Core, Computer-Based, and Oral: Three Different Preparation Jobs

Each stage rewards a different skill, so separate them mentally from day one.

StageFormat (2026 guides)What it rewards
Qualifying (Core) ExamRemote; 615 questions over three days; 15 hours 44 minutes total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions; six answering periods summing to 11 hours 9 minutesBroad diagnostic radiology breadth, physics, noninterpretive skills, radioisotope safety
Certifying: computer-based componentRemote; 178 questions; 3 hours 13 minutes answering time; 20-minute tutorial/practice; 20 minutes of break time; maximum session 3 hours 53 minutesIR-specific knowledge across arterial, venous, lymphatic, nonvascular, and patient care topics, plus the Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology module
Certifying: oral componentRemote; four examiner-led 30-minute case periods; 2 hours of active assessment; up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaksImage interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management, spoken under time pressure

The Core figures belong to the prerequisite exam and are not additive with the Certifying figures. Keep them in separate mental boxes. For a realistic read on how demanding each stage feels, see How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.

The DR-certified shortcut

If you already hold DR certification, you are exempt from the computer-based certifying component. Your Certifying Exam preparation then narrows to the oral component. Candidates on the integrated pathway or the independent pathway without prior DR certification should plan for both components. Eligibility timing, pathways, and the six-calendar-year eligibility window after training are detailed in the requirements guide linked above.

Mapping the Ten Content Areas to a Study Plan

The ten content areas on this site are a source-mapped structure, not ten official weighted domains. They combine one required module, five computer-based preparation headings, and four oral categories. ABR supplies no percentage weights for any of them, and the study guides state their topic lists are not exhaustive. The full breakdown lives in IR/DR Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 10 Content Areas; here is how to turn it into a plan.

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

This is the required module identified on ABR's IR/DR certification page. ABR's Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists preparation topics rather than weights.

  • Abdomen, Cardiovascular, Central Nervous System, Clinical Presentation
  • Gynecological/Genitourinary, Head and Neck, Multi-System Diseases, Musculoskeletal
  • Pediatric Radiology, Spine, Thorax, Nuclear, and Breast
  • Treat these as a refresh of Core-level diagnostic breadth, framed for an interventionalist's practice

Domains 2-4: Arterial, Venous, and Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention

These three headings come from ABR's computer-based certifying study guide and form the vascular heart of the written component.

  • Arterial: indications, access strategy, device selection, and complication recognition across the arterial tree
  • Venous: diagnosis and intervention, including the clinical decision-making around when and how to treat
  • Lymphatic: a smaller topic area that candidates often neglect; it is a named heading, so do not skip it

Domain 5: Nonvascular Intervention

Image-guided nonvascular procedures, their indications, techniques, and complications. Expect questions that ask what you would do next, not only what a finding is.

Domain 6: Patient Care

The heading that most often gets under-studied. Periprocedural assessment, consent, sedation and monitoring, and managing complications are fair game in the written exam and reappear heavily in the oral component.

Domains 7-10: The Oral Categories

ABR's oral component guide lists four categories: arterial diagnosis and intervention; venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention; oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention; and core interventional radiology. The oral guide's case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive.

Notice the overlap: arterial and venous/lymphatic topics appear in both the computer-based headings and the oral categories. Studying a topic once for recognition (written) and again for verbal management (oral) is the efficient pattern. Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary work is named explicitly in the oral categories, so give it dedicated time even if you use it less in daily practice.

No weights, no shortcuts: Equal-length oral periods do not establish equal percentage weighting, and no highest-weighted category can be established from ABR's materials. Resist any resource that tells you a specific domain is "30 percent of the exam." Balanced coverage is the defensible strategy.

Preparing for the 178-Question Computer-Based Component

The computer-based component is closed book, uses one monitor with a side-view webcam, and is monitored live and recorded. A software calculator is supplied; personal calculators are prohibited. Multiple-choice questions predominate, and ABR also describes image-location and drag-and-drop formats, so practice interacting with images rather than only reading explanations.

With 178 questions in 3 hours 13 minutes, you have a bit over a minute per question. That pace punishes both over-deliberation and weak recall. Two procedural points matter:

  • Previously viewed questions are locked after a break. Resolve flagged items before you take your break, not after.
  • The scored/unscored split is not publicly specified in the retrieved guide, so treat every question as if it counts.

A source conflict you should know about

ABR's computer-based guide mentions one required and three elective modules on one page, while ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules: Essentials and fundamental IR. The four-module structure belongs to the DR certifying pathway, not IR/DR. When in doubt, follow the certification page, and confirm your own module requirements in your myABR account before you commit study hours.

Using question banks sensibly

SIR's June 15, 2026 report on ABR exam resources summarizes a Fall 2025 survey with 118 responses and highlights question banks for the computer-based exam. Neither SIR nor ABR endorses the commercial resources surveyed, so evaluate any bank on whether its stems resemble ABR's style and whether explanations teach management, not just facts. You can sample exam-style items on the IR/DR practice test platform, and the one-page IR/DR Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful final-week refresher.

Rehearsing the Four Oral Case Periods

The oral component is where many well-read candidates stumble, because reading and speaking are different skills. The format: four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods, remote webcam monitoring, closed book, and no personal calculator. Active assessment is 2 hours, with up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of cases or questions per period is not disclosed, so prepare to move through a variable number of scenarios.

Each period assesses image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. That triad is your rehearsal template. For every case you practice, say aloud, in order:

  1. What you see and what the key findings imply
  2. Your diagnosis or differential, and what additional information you would want
  3. Your plan: indication, access, technique, devices, and alternatives
  4. What could go wrong, how you would recognize it, and how you would manage it
  5. Postprocedural care and follow-up

Step four is where candidates lose ground. Oral examiners probe complications and patient management, so a clean technical answer that ignores bleeding, contrast reaction, anticoagulation, or an unexpected finding is incomplete.

Key Takeaway

The IR oral component does not offer a conditional pass. Treat mock orals as a graded event: practice with a partner who interrupts, redirects, and asks "what if that fails?" Silent reading of case reviews does not build the verbal fluency the room demands.

SIR's survey summary points to case review and mock oral practice as the standout preparation for this component. Build four 30-minute mock blocks mapped to the four oral categories, so each category gets rehearsed under realistic time pressure.

Registration, Fees, and Remote-Exam Logistics

Delivery is through ABR's remote exam process with myABR registration. The current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement, so ignore any site claiming that. Fees below are in USD from ABR's initial certification fee schedule; they are nonrefundable, and published rescheduling credit rules apply. There is no published member/nonmember split.

ItemFee (USD)
Application$640 ($2,000 for international medical graduates)
Qualifying (Core) Exam$1,240
Certifying computer-based component$640
Certifying oral component$1,280
One-time re-exam fee$640
Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee$400 (under the stated deadline rules)

For a full breakdown and budgeting scenarios, see IR/DR Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown. For deadlines and scheduling windows, use IR/DR Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling and always verify against your myABR account.

Remote-exam readiness checklist

  • Test your webcam placement and one-monitor setup well before exam day; the computer-based component requires a side-view webcam
  • Complete the 20-minute tutorial/practice period seriously; it is built into the allotted session
  • Plan your break around the question-locking rule
  • For the oral, confirm your check-in time, since the total window runs up to 3 hours 10 minutes
  • Know the late-cancellation rules before you need them, given the $400 fee

A Sequenced Schedule Tied to the Domains

This is the one place for a time-based plan, and it is organized by content area rather than generic study habits. Adjust the length to your timeline; the ordering logic is what matters.

Weeks 1-2

Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology

  • Work through each topic on ABR's Essentials study guide list
  • Why first: it is the broadest module and refreshes the imaging foundation everything else builds on
Weeks 3-5

Domains 2-4: Arterial, Venous, Lymphatic

  • Take arterial first, then venous, then lymphatic
  • Give lymphatic a defined block so it is not skipped
Weeks 6-7

Domains 5-6: Nonvascular Intervention and Patient Care

  • Pair procedural content with complication management
  • Patient Care carries directly into oral preparation
Weeks 8-9

Oral categories (Domains 7-10)

  • Two mock oral blocks per week, one per category in rotation
  • Include oncology, biliary, and genitourinary cases deliberately
Final week

Timed practice and review

  • One full-length timed question session at the 178-question pace
  • Light review of weak areas; no new material

If you are DR-certified, drop the computer-based-specific blocks and extend the oral rehearsal weeks. Because the Qualifying exam's Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content also apply to certifying preparation per ABR, keep a short recurring review slot for them rather than a one-off block.

Reading Pass Rates and Scoring Without Over-Interpreting Them

ABR uses criterion-referenced standards, with each certifying component scored as a whole and separately; both must be passed when both are required. A current numerical IR/DR-specific pass mark is not established by the sources available. The 350 figure on ABR's general scoring page is an illustrative example, not a verified IR/DR cutoff, so do not plan around it. The details are in IR/DR Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.

On pass rates, ABR's certification page reports a 2026 first-time oral pass rate of 88% among 219 examinees (2025 was 88% among 190), and a 2026 Core first-time resident pass rate of 93% among 1,598. These are different cohorts and components, not an overall credential pass rate, and a separate computer-based certifying pass rate was not found. The honest reading: the oral cohort figures look favorable, but they describe who sat the exam, not your odds. See IR/DR Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows for a deeper cohort-by-cohort interpretation.

The 2029 Transition and Why It Matters Now

ABR's IR/DR Certifying Exam Process Update announces a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current IR/DR computer-based component after 2028. This article applies to the retrieved 2026 guidance only. If your timeline pushes you toward 2029 or later, do not assume the 2026 structure still applies; confirm the current format with ABR. The announcement has update sections dated March 10 and December 12, 2025, and the later one changes timing discussed in the earlier one, so read both together.

Practical implication: A candidate finishing training soon should prepare for the 2026 two-component structure. A candidate whose eligibility window stretches toward 2029 should watch ABR announcements closely and keep oral preparation strong, since oral assessment remains central in the new process.

After You Pass: Careers and Continuing Certification

Certification is the entry ticket for academic and private-practice interventional roles. Compensation evidence is thin and should be read cautiously: one UC Davis Interventional Radiologist posting (JPF07749, opened September 21, 2026) lists $525,000-$575,000, but that is a single employer's position range, not a national average or a measured certification premium. The IR/DR Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis and Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 frame these numbers properly, and IR/DR Jobs covers where the roles are.

Certification is not a one-and-done event. It is continuous, subject to ABR Continuing Certification rather than a fixed five- or ten-year certificate. Requirements include unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, the five-year assessment requirement through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME/PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340. Factor that ongoing cost into your long-term view alongside the initial fees above.

Frequently Asked Questions

How many questions are on the IR/DR computer-based certifying component?

ABR's 2026 remote guide specifies 178 questions with 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, plus a 20-minute tutorial/practice period and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum session of 3 hours 53 minutes. The scored/unscored split is not publicly specified. This figure applies to the computer-based component only, not the whole credential.

Do I have to take the computer-based component if I am already DR-certified?

No. Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component, leaving the oral component. Confirm your specific status and pathway in your myABR account, since alternative and international pathways have separate published rules.

How is the IR oral exam structured?

It consists of four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods assessing image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Active assessment is 2 hours, and the guide states up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. The number of cases per period is not disclosed, and there is no conditional pass for the IR oral.

Are there official percentage weights for the content areas?

No. ABR's study guides list preparation topics and oral categories without percentage weights, and they state their topic lists are not exhaustive. Be skeptical of any resource that assigns precise weights to individual domains.

Can I rely on the 88% oral pass rate to predict my result?

Not directly. The 88% figure is the 2026 first-time oral pass rate among 219 examinees, a specific cohort and component, not an overall credential pass rate or a personal probability. Use it as context, and let mock oral performance guide your readiness instead.

For a structured start, review the IR/DR Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt alongside the domain breakdown, then put your preparation to work with timed items on the IR/DR practice test site. If you are new to the terminology, What Does IR/DR Stand For? is a quick primer before you build your plan.

Ready to pass your IR/DR exam?

Put this into practice with free IR/DR questions across every exam domain.