- Two Training Pathways Into IR/DR Certification
- Training Versus Exam Preparation: Where They Overlap
- The Core Exam Stage During Residency
- Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology: The Required Module
- What the Computer-Based Certifying Exam Expects
- Training Your Oral Exam Reasoning
- Mapping Domains to a Training-Year Calendar
- Eligibility Windows and Fees Along the Way
- After Certification: Continuing Training Obligations
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Two pathways exist: an integrated clinical year plus five-year IR residency, or DR residency followed by two years of IR training.
- Passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam is required before certifying; eligibility runs six full calendar years after training.
- The oral exam is four separate 30-minute examiner-led case periods, so rehearse spoken management, not just image recognition.
- Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component.
Two Training Pathways Into IR/DR Certification
IR/DR training is the residency-level preparation that makes a physician eligible for the American Board of Radiology (ABR) Interventional Radiology/Diagnostic Radiology credential. The word "training" covers two distinct things that candidates often blur together: the accredited clinical training you must complete to become eligible, and the exam-focused preparation you layer on top of it. This article keeps those separate, because the board treats them separately. If you are new to the credential itself, start with What Is IR/DR Certification? for the basics.
According to ABR's current certification page, there are two main routes:
| Pathway | Structure | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Integrated pathway | One clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency | You train as an interventional radiologist from the start of radiology training |
| Independent pathway | DR residency followed by two years of IR training | One of those two years may be shortened by approved ESIR (Early Specialization in Interventional Radiology) |
Alternative and international medical graduate (IMG) pathways carry their own published rules, so if you trained outside a standard accredited program, read the ABR's pathway language directly rather than assuming one of the two routes above applies. For a fuller treatment of prerequisites, see IR/DR Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
Training Versus Exam Preparation: Where They Overlap
A good residency gives you the clinical volume. It does not automatically give you the exam's structure. The ABR's certifying process draws on three kinds of knowledge that training delivers unevenly: diagnostic imaging fluency, procedural technique and device knowledge, and periprocedural patient management. Residents at high-volume vascular programs often feel strong on arterial work and thinner on lymphatic or nonvascular topics, while residents in oncology-heavy programs may have the opposite profile.
The practical implication is to audit your own case log against the ABR's own preparation headings. The certifying computer-based study guide lists five top-level headings, and the oral guide lists four categories. If your log shows a thin spot, you can seek out cases, tumor boards, or elective rotations while you still have a training environment to fix it. Our IR/DR Exam Domains guide walks through all ten content areas used on this site.
The Core Exam Stage During Residency
Before the certifying components, every candidate must pass the Qualifying (Core) Exam. It is a prerequisite stage that tests the broad practice areas ABR lists on its certification page: breast imaging, cardiovascular imaging, computed tomography, gastrointestinal imaging, genitourinary imaging, interventional radiology, magnetic resonance imaging, musculoskeletal radiology, neuroradiology, noninterpretive skills, nuclear radiology, pediatric radiology, physics, radiography/fluoroscopy, thoracic radiology, ultrasound, and radioisotope safety content. Those are the listed practice topics, not a verified weighted blueprint.
The current remote Core format is long. ABR's 2026 remote guide describes 615 questions across three days, with 15 hours 44 minutes of total allotted time including tutorials, breaks, and intermissions. The six published answering periods sum to 11 hours 9 minutes of active time. The scored versus unscored split is not specified. Registration runs through myABR, and ABR handles remote delivery and monitoring; the current guides do not establish a Pearson VUE or PSI testing-center arrangement.
Do not mix up the Core numbers with the certifying numbers. The 615-question figure belongs only to the prerequisite Core exam. It is not part of the IR/DR Certifying Exam, and the within-domain percentages in the Core domain documents should never be treated as percentages of the certifying exam. For a sense of how demanding this stage feels, read How Hard Is the IR/DR Exam?
Key Takeaway
Noninterpretive Skills and Radioisotope Safety Content apply to certifying preparation as well as Core. Residents who treat them as Core-only topics and then drop them tend to relearn them under pressure later.
Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology: The Required Module
This is the part of IR/DR training that surprises integrated-track residents most. Even though your training is interventional-focused, ABR identifies Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology as a required module for the IR/DR credential. The linked Essentials of Radiology Study Guide lists preparation topics including abdomen, cardiovascular, central nervous system, clinical presentation, gynecological/genitourinary, head and neck, multi-system diseases, musculoskeletal, pediatric radiology, spine, thorax, nuclear, and breast.
Domain 1: Essentials of Diagnostic Radiology
A broad diagnostic module that rewards candidates who kept their diagnostic reading sharp throughout an interventional-heavy residency.
- The study guide topics are preparation areas, not an exhaustive or percentage-weighted list.
- Neuroradiology, pediatric, and breast imaging are the areas interventional trainees most often under-review.
- Clinical presentation questions reward linking symptoms to the right imaging next step.
Note a source conflict worth knowing about: one page of ABR's computer-based exam guide mentions one required and three elective modules, while ABR's IR/DR certification page explicitly specifies two required modules, Essentials and fundamental IR. Do not assume the DR-only four-module structure applies to you. Check the current certification page when you plan your sequence.
What the Computer-Based Certifying Exam Expects
The computer-based certifying component is where your training turns into recall under time pressure. ABR's 2026 remote guide describes 178 questions, 3 hours 13 minutes of answering time, a 20-minute tutorial/practice period, and 20 minutes of break time, for a maximum allotted session of 3 hours 53 minutes. The scored versus unscored split is not publicly specified. Multiple-choice questions predominate, with some image-location or drag-and-drop formats. It is closed book, uses one monitor and a side-view webcam, and supplies a software calculator while prohibiting personal ones. Previously viewed questions lock after a break, which affects how you should pace and when you should flag items.
The ABR's computer-based study guide has five top-level preparation headings, which map to the five domains below. The guide describes possible topics rather than exhaustive coverage.
Domains 2 to 4: Arterial, Venous, and Lymphatic Diagnosis and Intervention
The vascular core of the credential. Training volume here is usually strongest, but exam questions probe indications, contraindications, device selection, and complication recognition rather than raw technique.
- Arterial: expect diagnostic angiographic reasoning alongside intervention strategy.
- Venous: access, filtration, and venous disease management are recurring themes.
- Lymphatic: the topic residents see least often, so it deserves deliberate review.
Domains 5 and 6: Nonvascular Intervention and Patient Care
Nonvascular work and patient care are where periprocedural judgment gets tested directly.
- Nonvascular: image-guided procedures outside the vascular tree, including their complications.
- Patient Care: consultation, periprocedural assessment, sedation and safety, and follow-up reasoning.
One caution from the source material: the guide contains an incomplete noninvasive vascular laboratory sub-bullet, so do not rely on a secondhand summary of that item. If you hold a DR certification already, you are exempt from this computer-based component entirely, which is why the IR/DR Study Guide separates DR-certified and non-DR-certified candidates.
Training Your Oral Exam Reasoning
The oral component is the part of the credential that training alone rarely prepares you for. ABR's 2026 remote oral guide describes four separate examiner-led 30-minute case periods, giving two hours of active assessment, and states up to 3 hours 10 minutes including check-in and breaks. A fixed number of cases or questions is not disclosed. The exam is closed book with remote webcam monitoring and no personal calculator, and the IR oral does not offer a conditional pass.
The four oral categories map to Domains 7 through 10:
Domains 7 to 10: The Four Oral Categories
Each category is an examiner-led period assessing image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management.
- Arterial diagnosis and intervention (Domain 7)
- Venous and lymphatic diagnosis and intervention (Domain 8)
- Oncology, biliary, and genitourinary diagnosis and intervention (Domain 9)
- Core interventional radiology (Domain 10)
The oral guide's case examples and appendix are explicitly nonexhaustive, so treat them as illustrations of style rather than a checklist. Equal-length periods also do not establish equal percentage weights.
How to practice speaking, not just knowing
Oral failures usually come from disorganized delivery, not missing knowledge. Train yourself to run each case in a consistent order: describe the image, give a differential, state your recommended procedure and why, name the key complications and how you would manage them, and describe follow-up. Residents who rehearse out loud with an attending or co-resident, ideally in a mock oral format, build the habit of structuring answers under interruption. SIR's June 2026 report of a 118-response Fall 2025 survey highlighted case review and mock oral practice as common oral preparation, though neither SIR nor ABR endorses specific commercial resources.
Mapping Domains to a Training-Year Calendar
Generic study schedules are not very useful here, so this is the one place we will talk about sequencing, and it is tied directly to the domains. The logic is to start with what training will not give you automatically and to leave the most case-driven material for last, when your clinical exposure has caught up.
Essentials and Core review
- Reopen Essentials topics you stopped reading in interventional rotations: neuro, pediatrics, breast, nuclear.
- Revisit noninterpretive skills and radioisotope safety content.
Lymphatic and nonvascular gaps
- Seek out lymphatic and nonvascular cases that your rotations under-supply.
- Work through Patient Care scenarios involving sedation, anticoagulation, and consent.
Oral rehearsal and complication drills
- Run timed 30-minute mock case periods across all four oral categories.
- Rehearse oncology, biliary, and genitourinary cases, which combine imaging with procedural choice.
For a compact reference to keep beside you during rotations, the IR/DR Cheat Sheet condenses the facts worth memorizing. For written question practice, our IR/DR practice test lets you drill the domains in an exam-style format and see where you are weakest before the clock starts mattering.
Eligibility Windows and Fees Along the Way
Training comes with a financial schedule as well. ABR's published initial certification fees, in USD, are:
| Item | Fee (USD) |
|---|---|
| Application | $640 (or $2,000 for international medical graduates) |
| Qualifying (Core) Exam | $1,240 |
| Certifying computer-based component | $640 |
| Certifying oral component | $1,280 |
| One-time re-exam fee | $640 |
| Late oral cancellation/nonattendance fee | $400 (under stated deadline rules) |
Fees are nonrefundable, though published rescheduling credit rules apply, and no member versus nonmember split is published. Budgeting these across your training years matters, especially if you are on the independent pathway and sitting for components in sequence. A DR-certified candidate who is exempt from the computer-based component avoids that line item. For a full breakdown see IR/DR Certification Cost 2026, and for scheduling logistics see IR/DR Exam Dates 2026.
Key Takeaway
The structure is changing. ABR has announced a DR Oral plus IR Oral process beginning in 2029 and an end to the current computer-based component after 2028. If your eligibility window straddles that date, read ABR's process update and its dated sections together, since a later update changes timing discussed in the earlier one. Do not apply the future structure to a 2026 plan.
After Certification: Continuing Training Obligations
Certification is not a fixed-term certificate. ABR describes continuous certification subject to Continuing Certification requirements: unrestricted medical licensure, at least 75 Category 1 CME credits per rolling three years, a five-year assessment requirement met through OLA or a Continuing Certification exam, and one PQI project or qualifying activity per rolling three years. Newly certified diplomates first meet the CME and PQI requirements in year four. The annual IR/DR Continuing Certification fee is $340.
In other words, training in the credential's sense never fully ends. Residents who build a habit of logging cases and quality improvement work early find the continuing requirements far less burdensome. If you are weighing the long-term case for all of this, Is the IR/DR Certification Worth It? and the IR/DR Salary Guide cover the economics, and IR/DR Jobs looks at who hires. As one data point only, a UC Davis interventional radiologist posting (JPF07749) lists $525,000 to $575,000, but that is a single employer's range, not a national average or a measured certification premium.
Frequently Asked Questions
The integrated pathway is a clinical year plus a five-year accredited IR residency. The independent pathway is DR residency followed by two years of IR training, potentially one with approved ESIR. Alternative and IMG pathways have separate published rules.
Yes. Passing the Qualifying (Core) Exam, along with verified training, medical licensure, and professional standing, is required. Core is a separate prerequisite stage and its 615-question format is not part of the certifying exam.
Existing DR certification exempts a candidate from the computer-based certifying component. The oral component still applies, and each required component is scored separately and must be passed.
Certification eligibility lasts six full calendar years after training. That is an eligibility window, not the validity period of the certificate, which is maintained through continuing certification.
It tests structured spoken reasoning across four 30-minute examiner-led periods covering image interpretation, image-guided procedures, and periprocedural management. Rehearsing out loud, especially complication management, is the most direct way to prepare. For pass-rate context, see IR/DR Pass Rate 2026, and for scoring see IR/DR Passing Score 2026.